Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I found the meat mixture with the cabbage tasty but the rice turned out too mushy.. thinking that cooked rice gets overcooked with 9 hrs in a crockpot.. wondering if I should have used raw rice? Suggest serving with plain yogurt as a topping instead of sour cream. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Wanting to try this for awhile now, it left my family underwhelmed. I was let down by the sauce, and that's the main reason I wanted to try this recipe! I doubled it per popular suggestion and still found myself doctoring it up with more brown sugar and worcestershire, as well as onion/garlic powders. I used a can of Campbell's Tomato Bisque soup for the base and laid all 12 rolls over that in a 9x13 baking dish. Used savoy cabbage without any issues, used the 90-second rice in a bag, cooled. Used 1/2 lean hamburger and 1/2 Italian sausage, well-seasoned, and only 1/8 cup milk. Baked covered tightly with foil at 350 for 1 hour 15 minutes. This dish has so much potential, so I'll definitely do this over with some major tweaking. I appreciate the basic idea of this dish and will use it as a springboard to cater to my family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This recipe was ok but a little bland and maybe a little too sweet. I took other reviewers' advice and doubled the sauce. I added a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes to the 8 oz can of tomato sauce and mashed the diced tomatoes up a little bit, and then added the lemon juice, brown sugar, and Worchestershire sauce. I added 2 cloves of garlic to the meat mixture and I used ground turkey instead of beef. I baked it at 350 degrees for 1 hour instead of making it in the slow cooker as one other reviewer recommended because I was pressed for time. We do like cabbage rolls so I will try this again, but next time I will add more spices and less brown sugar. I will make it in the slow cooker too, to give the flavors more time to blend. This recipe has potential but in my family's opinion it needs just more of a spicy flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
It's okay but could be much better. I not only doubled the sauce but added a 14oz can of diced tomatoes. i love black pepper but There is too much black pepper, it drowns out the other flavors. I would recommend using less black pepper and added additional onions and some minced garlic in he meat mixture. Also could use a little more rice as well. I used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I chose this recipe because I needed to use the cabbages in the garden. I doubled the sauce and cooked everything on low for 8 hours. I should have quadrupled the sauce so the filling didn't taste so dry. I intended to use slices of sour dough bread to sop up the liquid sauce, but there wasn't any sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Very good! Used more tomato sauce than requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Based on taste I would have given it 3 stars but I chose 2 because of the effort. I had really high hopes but felt very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
One tip: After the cabbage leaves are steamed, it makes it easier to roll them up, if you trim out the tough stem portion of the leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cemab4y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. There was not flavor in the filling and the texture wasmushy. There was not enough sauce, and I should have read some of the reviews before making it. Sauce needs to be doubled or tripled- mine started to dry out after a few hours and had to add water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was pretty good. My only critique is that there was very little sauce. I will definitely make this again, just doubling the sauce next time. I made extra cabbage rolls and froze them without sauce. I can't wait to see if it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States