Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I guess cabbage rolls are an acquired taste. My kids have not yet acquired this particular taste! But, my husband and I like them! My cabbage leaves were a bit tough. That's most likely my error and no fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Very good on the first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Delicious! Just like my Grandma makes :) I used ground Turkey instead, and A1 instead of Worcestershire, I also added Sauerkraut to the bottom of the slow cooker. Next day's left overs were just as good! Will definitely make more next time to have bunches of left overs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I had high expectations of this recipe, but it was only good, not great. The proportions of the sauce, meat filling and cabbage leaves seemed perfect to me, which is pretty impressive. But I just felt that the filling made the dish taste like meat loaf wrapped in cabbage leaves. It really needed something to spice it up. If you make this, I would suggest looking at other comments for suggestions. Maybe a ton of garlic? Chopped celery? Fresh dill? I'm at a loss, but it definitely needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
use tips from vjgunkel59 reviews wow just awesome .. had these as a kid durning the summer picking garden time and using up cabbage we didn't turn into sourkraut loved them then and more after finding this recipe and reading the reviews and found a better recipe now it's in my box won't loose this one it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Amazing! I loooved it. The leftovers reheated seemed even better day 2.. I will definately make this again. I think it would even be great to prepare and freeze for future quick meals. Crock pot worked great, no burning, everything was cooked evenly. Amazing meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These cabbage rolls were so fantastic! What made them best for me, after years of searching off & on for a great cabbage roll recipe, was that 1) the instruction to boil the leaves to make them easier to roll = excellent! and 2) the sauce. I tripled the sauce. Absolutely love the sauce. It was right on with the sweet and sour flavor. If you triple the sauce, you'll have enough for the cabbage rolls and noodles or rice on the side. It looks like a lot, but it gets eaten! The only thing I did different, was to bake the rolls at 350 for an hour, like other reviewers mentioned, and I added some garlic powder to the meat mix. Didn't hardly change this at all - IT DOESN'T NEED IT. Gorgeous, flavorful, heirloom recipe... omg, all I can say. Keeping this for a lifetime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
filling but could use more seasonings and I'm thinking mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pequot Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughboy
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
My wife doesn't like cabbage very much but she loves these. I add about 1 tsp of caraway seeds, and put lots of Parmesan Asiago Romano cheese blend on top at the last 15 minutes of cooking time . I baked mine in the oven at 350 for about 1 1/2 hours but the cabbage was still a little tough. 2 hours would probably be good. Still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I've never had Cabbage rolls so I have no idea what they should taste like. I followed the recipe, except I tripled the sauce recipe. I did not want dry cabbage rolls. Once they were in the crockpot, I sprinkled salt and pepper and then poured the sauce. These were....eh...OK. Kinda plain, not very exciting. They weren't terrible or nasty, but they weren't anything I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States