Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
use tips from vjgunkel59 reviews wow just awesome .. had these as a kid durning the summer picking garden time and using up cabbage we didn't turn into sourkraut loved them then and more after finding this recipe and reading the reviews and found a better recipe now it's in my box won't loose this one it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Amazing! I loooved it. The leftovers reheated seemed even better day 2.. I will definately make this again. I think it would even be great to prepare and freeze for future quick meals. Crock pot worked great, no burning, everything was cooked evenly. Amazing meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These cabbage rolls were so fantastic! What made them best for me, after years of searching off & on for a great cabbage roll recipe, was that 1) the instruction to boil the leaves to make them easier to roll = excellent! and 2) the sauce. I tripled the sauce. Absolutely love the sauce. It was right on with the sweet and sour flavor. If you triple the sauce, you'll have enough for the cabbage rolls and noodles or rice on the side. It looks like a lot, but it gets eaten! The only thing I did different, was to bake the rolls at 350 for an hour, like other reviewers mentioned, and I added some garlic powder to the meat mix. Didn't hardly change this at all - IT DOESN'T NEED IT. Gorgeous, flavorful, heirloom recipe... omg, all I can say. Keeping this for a lifetime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
filling but could use more seasonings and I'm thinking mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pequot Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughboy
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
My wife doesn't like cabbage very much but she loves these. I add about 1 tsp of caraway seeds, and put lots of Parmesan Asiago Romano cheese blend on top at the last 15 minutes of cooking time . I baked mine in the oven at 350 for about 1 1/2 hours but the cabbage was still a little tough. 2 hours would probably be good. Still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I've never had Cabbage rolls so I have no idea what they should taste like. I followed the recipe, except I tripled the sauce recipe. I did not want dry cabbage rolls. Once they were in the crockpot, I sprinkled salt and pepper and then poured the sauce. These were....eh...OK. Kinda plain, not very exciting. They weren't terrible or nasty, but they weren't anything I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Smelled bad, looked bad and...didn't taste too good. Really awful mushy texture. I used spaghetti sauce with a can of tomato paste added and I'm glad I did, because otherwise the blandness would've been intolerable. Thing is, I can see this working with a LOT of tweaks. But I'm not sure it'd be worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Excellent I used quinoa instead of white rice cream cheese no meat I used tomato basil bisque soup my family loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I agree with the others -- the sauce needed to be doubled. I also used 1/2 lb ground sausage and 1/2 pound ground beef to give it a little extra flavor. This was a great recipe. Definitely making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was my first shot at cabbage rolls and it turned out great!! This is another one of those recipes that you can think of a million different ways to do it!! It's delish, as is, though. Loved it!! I wasn't thinking and did coleslaw as a side dish. It was a stinky evening at my house, too much cabbage!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 828) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States