Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Very tasty but sauce is skimpy, even when I doubled it. Next time, I will triple it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Great with some minor changes. U doubled the sauce and cooked it in the oven at 350 for an hour and a half covered with foil . Will do this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I love cabbage rolls, and I really enjoyed these, although because of dietary concerns I had to omit the brown sugar. However the fiance wasn't completely hooked. So next time I substituted cayenne pepper (to taste) for the brown sugar instead of simply omitting it, in order to give the tomato sauce the little something it was lacking the first time around. They were VERY well received like that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
My family said 'these are your best yet!'. I made some changes due to the fact I usually cook with a lot if spices/seasonings. For the sauce I used 28oz of diced tomatoes & 1 can of tomato soup. Added extra brown sugar & worsestershire. Added 6 bay leaves . The meat: I added some of the tomato sauce, extra onion, 4 garlic cloves & 1/4 teaspoon of allspice (I will use 1/2 tsp next time). So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I took in a number of reviewer suggestions (ie, increased the onion, added garlic powder, doubled the sauce, baked at 350 for 1 hr) but these improvements didn't help me any. The filling seemed mushy and bland, we needed steak knives to cut into the cabbage, and the in-your-face tomatoness of the sauce dominated the whole thing. Sooo many reviewers recommended baking, but I can't help but wonder if the slow cooker would have been better. This recipe seems to need so much punching up and fine tuning to turn out well, I think you're better off starting somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a great recipe! I did change a few things which is why i'm giving it 4 stars. I added 2 cloves of minced garlic and 1 tsp of garlic powder to give it more flavor. I also used a can of san marzano whole peeled tomatoes and mashed with my hand for the sauce, thus making 4 times more sauce because I wanted more and I wanted it to be chunky. It was fantastic! And just as great the next day as leftovers. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Yum!!!! I always thought cabbage rolls were really difficult and time consuming to make! Not so!! I took the advice of another reviewer and froze the head of lettuce then let thaw to make the leaves easier to work with-WHAT A TIME SAVER!!! As I put them into the slow cooker I thought "as long as they taste ok this is the way to do it"-freezing the head of cabbage IS THE WAY TO DO IT!!! I also use ground turkey or chicken because I can't eat red meat-this works out perfectly-and I add extra rice to make it a bit more economical. I don't like when people change so many things about a recipe then say 5 stars but I feel the changes I've made are more for saving time/money and the original would be even better. *Note I do like non-stringy (very soft cabbage) cabbage rolls-like well boiled cabbage-that is how it turns out with the freezing method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Cabbage Rolls II Haiku: "Bit of work to make. But really worth the effort. Should've made double!" I followed the recipe's ingredient list exactly, only baking 350 for about an hour, partially-covered, due to not having the slow-cooker time available. The only things that I wish I'd done differently was add some minced garlic, and prep more for leftovers or for freezing b/c I felt like it was a quite a bit of work for the 12 rolls that fed 3 of us (one of whom was a 6 year old), but SHAZAM, we obliterated them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
My husband loved these!! I added a can of diced tomatoes and doubled the brown sugar, lemon, and Worcestershire sause. I also cut up the unused cabbage and added it in with the diced tomatoes. Great recipe! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
It was too late in the day to cook these in the slow cooker, so I baked them at 350 degrees for about 1 hour. The filling I made exactly as written, but slightly modified the sauce. I substituted El Pato Salsa de Jalapeno tomato sauce to give it a little kick, and added some freshly-chopped ripe tomatoes which needed to be used up. I’ve made a number of stuffed cabbage roll recipes and although OK, always thought they were a little bland. That Mexican-style tomato sauce really made these incredibly tasty, my husband said he’d give them a “10.” This will now be my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States