Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was my first shot at cabbage rolls and it turned out great!! This is another one of those recipes that you can think of a million different ways to do it!! It's delish, as is, though. Loved it!! I wasn't thinking and did coleslaw as a side dish. It was a stinky evening at my house, too much cabbage!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Loved this! Doubled the recipe itself and used most of my head of cabbage, and doubled the sauce recipe using Heinz roasted garlic tomato sauce. Added extra brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce and lemon than the recipe required. Made a great sauce! The doubled recipe plus doubled sauce took up most of the room in my 6 qt slow cooker, and after taking them out there was a LOT of watery leftover sauce in the pot. I wouldn't make more sauce than I did unless I was going to put it on top of the finished rolls when I pop them in the oven to reheat. I used a stock pot to blanch my cabbage, and before putting it in I stuck a kebab skewer through the core, which made it SO easy to put in and out of the pot between peeling off leaves. No splashing boiling water and gave me something to grab that wasn't hot while peeling my leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Awesome. As others have stated in their reviews, doubling the sauce is a must. I used brown rice cooked in chicken stock. went with Italian herb ground turkey and added 3 cloves of minced garlic, pinch of smoked paprika, 1/8 tsp of dry mustard, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/3 cup of chopped Italian parsley, and backed off on the salt and pepper to 1/2 tsp and 1tsp, respectively. Topped it off with 2 cups of sauerkraut and a small strip of bacon on each roll and baked 1 hr at 350 in a glass pan covered with foil. Discarded the bacon, garnished with Italian parsley sprigs and served - was a big hit! Also try this dish on a smaller scale cutting the cabbage leaves in half and stuffing with 1-2 Tbs for a fabulous finger food appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a very good basic recipe. I only tweaked it a little to make it a bit more flavorful. I added 2t of Worcestershire and 2T of Parmesano Reggiano to the meat mixture. I also simply baked it in the oven, covered with foil, at 375 for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
The husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
So easy and so rich and yummy! I made these for a school luncheon and they were a big hit. I made them in my slow cooker and they came out delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBurns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Excellent - will make again. Next time will take advice and freeze/thaw the cabbage & will make more sauce. 5 stars with those changes. I also took a shortcut and substituted a micro pkg Seeds of Change Quinoa & Brown Rice instead of the white rice. Will definitely do that every time as it made it healthier and gave it good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Made vegetarian with veggie beef crumblers and organic Worcestershire sauce (normal has anchovies). Also used 4x sauce and baked, 350 for 1 hour, as recommended from others. The cabbage is near impossible to get 10 large leaves from without ripping them. I wound up putting the head in boiling water once for each leaf to soften it. It's kind of a pain, the frozen option is probably better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
These were received most enthusiastically by my family. I did add a pinch of garlic powder as some had suggested, and did double the sauce as well. One mistake I made was add the brown sugar to the beef- and whoops, could not take it out, so just mixed it in. Not sure how much of a difference it made, but it did taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organizerkathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Like this vintage type recipe, very economical too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States