Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was my first time ever making cabbage rolls. I used this as a base recipe. I doubled the recipe and used half ground venison, half ground beef. I added extra onions, 4 chopped cloves of garlic, and ground thyme to the meat. I had to exempt the egg because I did not realize I was out until I went to add it to the mix. Worked fine without the egg. I used half tomato sauce, half marinara sauce and tripled the sauce. Next time, I will make more rice to have as a side. I will also put a thick layer of chopped cabbage leaves down before laying the rolls down. I boiled the cabbage head and took off the leafs one at a time. I also made my rolls a little thick. Next time I will use half the meat in them so I get more cabbage to meat. Great base recipe. I also cooked this in the oven. 350 for 1.5 hrs tightly covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Dice
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My grandma used to make cabbage rolls for me, and they were my favorite! Now she's gone, and I have been wanting to try making them myself. This recipe was almost exactly what I was craving! The only changes I made were to include beef soup base when cooking the rice, and I doubled the sauce. It was delicious as is, but the next time I make it, I might add a little bit of the sauce to the beef mix before rolling it up. Fantastic recipe, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
very good! took some of the other's suggestions and doubled the onions, doubled the sauce and added a pinch of garlic powder to the meat mixture. Hubster ate almost the entire pot and my 2yr old had 2 :D next time will add a layer of sour kraut and maybe even triple the sauce. doubling or tripling the sauce is a MUST!! UPDATE: adding sauerkraut on top of the other additions I mentioned knocks these out of the park! YUM this is a recipe I can't wait to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was really good. Thank you Saltair4 for the tip about freezing the cabbage. I wish I had known this years ago. We might have had stuffed cabbage more often. It worked great. I did use more sauce. Instead of canned tomato sauce, I used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and it could still have used more sauce. But it worked great in the slow cooker. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
The sauce really makes this dish...although I used a 29 oz. can and multiplied the lemon juice, brown sugar and worcestershire sauce by 3-1/2. Also, the cabbage leaves need to be boiled much longer, more like 5 minutes. Mine were too hard to handle when rolling, and were tough when the dish was finished. I baked it at 350 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made these with ground turkey & it was really tasty & healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Alvarez Lanza
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Yes and Yes! Double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Yum! I'm a HUGE fan of "piggies" so I knew I'd like these. My hubs isn't, but he's basing his opinion on a (distant) childhood memory. No surprise, my hubs wasn't a fan. :( And while I was, I wasn't a fan of the texture. There's just something about slow cooking ground beef that I don't like (I have the SAME problem with sc meatballs). I liked everything else about these, so next time, I'll change the cooking method (maybe on the stovetop) and hope for the best. NOTE #1: Everyone has a different opinion about what to do with their cabbage. Some freeze the entire head, then thaw it (the idea is that the leaves will soften as they thaw). Others suggest simmering whole and some remove the leaves FIRST, then simmer for a minute or so (until softened). I am a traditionalist at heart. I cut the bottom off my head of cabbage (just enough for it to lie flat) and simmered until the leaves fell off, one by one. I wanted to freeze mine, but I've heard this produces rubbery rolls. Furthermore, removing the leaves beforehand is nearly IMPOSSIBLE (they will rip before you are able to remove them!). NOTE #2: As Avon Lady suggests, be SURE to remove the thickest part of the "spine" of each cabbage leaf. Otherwise, they will not roll easily! Other than doubling the sauce (a MUST), adding a can of diced tomatoes and topping with a layer of (drained) sauerkraut, I made no major changes. Pierogies and steamed peas rounded out our meal. Thanks for sharing, BJ! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Quadruple sauce at a MINIMUM. use half pork sausage half ground round core cabbage head and place entire head in to be steamed- leaves fall off. Do not freeze cabbage- makes leaves rubbery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I had never tried cabbage rolls but allrecipies emailed me this and it sounded so good and easy I had to try it. And I'm sure glad I did! It was easy to make (the most difficult part was fishing the hot leaves out of the boiling water I may try the freezing idea next time.) Here are the few tweeks I did: I hate onion so I went with onion powder I added garlic powder (my personal taste) My tomato sauce was in a 16oz can so I doubled the sauce (which I'm glad I did) I also added lemon pepper and garlic powder to the sauce And I only had regular ground beef so I reserved some of the sauce and when they were done I served them in a dish that would drain the grease off and put the reserved sauce on top. The results were great! I love recipes that leave room for the addition of personal taste. You can easily add other ingredients to make this your own personal dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sahm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States