Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These were great! Of course I tweaked it alittle. Instead of ground beef, I used ground turkey and instead of white rice, I used brown. I added 2 teaspoons of minced garlic, upped the onion to 1/2 to 3/4 cup and omitted the salt. I tripled the sauce but only added 2 tablesspoons of brown sugar. The flavor was amazing. We really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I liked this recipe. My husband did not. I did put the sour Kraut on as one reviewer suggested. I would like it to have alittle more kick to it. But over all, it is a nice dish. Great for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was definitely a big hit in our house. Even my husband (who hates cabbage) loved these cabbage rolls. I did triple the sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xojessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Great recipe. My mother always cooked her cabbage rolls in water for awhile so she could drain the fat and then she added the sauce and continued cooking. She also froze her head of cabbage, thawed and the leaves were ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
These were good. I quadrupled the sauce, as others suggested. I also cooked in the oven, as I started late and didn't have 9 hours for the crock pot. I cooked them 1.5 hours at 350. They tasted good, but I didn't think the cabbage was cooked enough. I ate these a lot growing up (never made them) and the cabbage usually is soft, and the meat is soaked through a little with the sauce. Maybe you need to cook them in the crock pot to achieve this. I ended up putting them back in the oven for another 45 minutes, and they did get better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sea Cliff, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I grew up eating these as a kid. Mom always added a breakfast sausage to each one. Added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
For easy whole cabbage leaves..cut the root end off the head, then plunge the whole head of cabbage in a pot of boiling water. As the leaves soften- lift the head with a long handled fork and peel the individule leaves of one by one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is a well known recipe in South Africa, where it is known as "grandmother in a blanket." I often make it for my family. Often I would leave out the rice, and pour beef stock over before baking it in the oven or slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I made these, however, I chose to eliminate the sugar, lemon juice,and Worcestershire sauce. I added extra tomato sauce, about a 1/4 cup, combining it with the meat mixture. I cooked my in a large pot on the stove top about 1 1/2 hours on med heat, slow boil. If I have extra cabbage leaves, I shred them and add them with the rolls. They freeze well, too, that is, if you have any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
OMG, it was so delicious, although I listened to others but quadrupling the sauce and I cooked it in the oven at 325 degrees for 1.5 hours and everyone LOVED them! I also used can tomatoes and I crushed the tomatoes with a fork and my hands. Next time I am going to add more ingredients like garlic and more onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States