Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
To be fair, this is the correct rating for this recipe as written. It is too dry and a bit too bland. Plus, it really helps to steam the cabbage head to make the cabbage easier to work with. So, having said that, if you double the sauce (or even triple it which I like to do to pour over mashed potatoes), add some garlic and basil and steam the cabbage, you will have a five star recipe for sure! Oh, and just a personal preference, I use very lean ground turkey in place of the ground beef. Much leaner and far less fat and grease in your dish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
We just love cabbage rolls, our Mom used to do then often. When I find a new recipe, I will try it. It is our family all-time favorite, we did a huge batch, we let it cool then we freeze, we always drop some to our parents who can't cook much any more. It was hard not to eat too many. Our parents are in their 80's and they loved it also. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Everyone has their own way of making these.I do not use any salt,just pepper.I do the rice in low sodium beef broth and cabbage the same way.I use ketchup and mix a little bit sour cream and pepper.And I use brown rice instead of white.And bake them and serve with some good rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
You do not have to use cooked rice- you can mix with the instant rice uncooked and it does come out soft too!!! I use tomato soup on top - comes out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I wish I could give 4.5 stars. Very good, but I still feel like there is a little bit of room for improvement... I'm just not sure what because it was my first time making AND eating cabbage rolls. My boyfriend loved them and took them to work the next day. I definitely recommend this recipe! Only thing that I didn't like was that the sauce was pretty liquidy... Maybe I should have cooked it for an hour without the lid. Oh, and do steam the entire head of lettuce (as another reviewer stated) as it is easier this way to remove the leaves without tearing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
The filling was sorely lacking in flavor/seasoning. I'm thinking it could use a good amount of garlic, more onion, and perhaps even more salt....and something else, not sure what yet. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I have been making this for years. One of our standards during Christmas. Thanks for the tip about wilting the cabbage in the freezer first. That's the worse part, getting the cabbage ready. I do cook my meat first so I don't have to worry about the fat/liquid issue. Also I throw a can of sauerkraut over it before I bake it. I don't use a slow cooker because I feel they fall apart to easily. I bake in the oven. BTW this freezes well, so you can make enough for another meal on down the road, or take to a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
My family loved this as it is, no changes ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Needs more flavor as is but with additions it's pretty good. My Russian/Ukrainian side was satisfied. This is also a a good recipe to double if you want to freeze for later. Put half in a freezer bag with plenty of sauce and you've got a meal for another day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Romney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This recipe was great exactly as written - my whole family liked it. Thanks for the great recipe, I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 833) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States