Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
We loved this dish- with some modification. I followed recommendations made by others and doubled the sauce, and added a little water. I upped the seasonings quite a lot, and used 1/2 fresh polish sausage (homemade) and 1/2 lean ground beef. I think this recipe would have been quite bland without those additional seasonings and changes. Will make again. Here's a tip by the way- don't bother to boil the cabbage. Just put the cored cabbage in a pie plate, loosely cover it with plastic wrap and microwave it for 5-6 minutes. It steams perfectly and cuts way down on time and hot boiling water. The leaves just peel right off. If the inner leaves are still too stiff, stick it back in the microwave for an additional 2 minutes or so. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Yum, this is very good. Like many other reviewers I doubled the sauce. I also used fresh garlic because I love garlic. I also cooked it in the oven otherwise I would have been eating at midnight. Thank you to Merkleda (post from 2/3/09). So easy to cook the cabbage. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Very tasty but sauce is skimpy, even when I doubled it. Next time, I will triple it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Great with some minor changes. U doubled the sauce and cooked it in the oven at 350 for an hour and a half covered with foil . Will do this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I love cabbage rolls, and I really enjoyed these, although because of dietary concerns I had to omit the brown sugar. However the fiance wasn't completely hooked. So next time I substituted cayenne pepper (to taste) for the brown sugar instead of simply omitting it, in order to give the tomato sauce the little something it was lacking the first time around. They were VERY well received like that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
My family said 'these are your best yet!'. I made some changes due to the fact I usually cook with a lot if spices/seasonings. For the sauce I used 28oz of diced tomatoes & 1 can of tomato soup. Added extra brown sugar & worsestershire. Added 6 bay leaves . The meat: I added some of the tomato sauce, extra onion, 4 garlic cloves & 1/4 teaspoon of allspice (I will use 1/2 tsp next time). So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I took in a number of reviewer suggestions (ie, increased the onion, added garlic powder, doubled the sauce, baked at 350 for 1 hr) but these improvements didn't help me any. The filling seemed mushy and bland, we needed steak knives to cut into the cabbage, and the in-your-face tomatoness of the sauce dominated the whole thing. Sooo many reviewers recommended baking, but I can't help but wonder if the slow cooker would have been better. This recipe seems to need so much punching up and fine tuning to turn out well, I think you're better off starting somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a great recipe! I did change a few things which is why i'm giving it 4 stars. I added 2 cloves of minced garlic and 1 tsp of garlic powder to give it more flavor. I also used a can of san marzano whole peeled tomatoes and mashed with my hand for the sauce, thus making 4 times more sauce because I wanted more and I wanted it to be chunky. It was fantastic! And just as great the next day as leftovers. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Yum!!!! I always thought cabbage rolls were really difficult and time consuming to make! Not so!! I took the advice of another reviewer and froze the head of lettuce then let thaw to make the leaves easier to work with-WHAT A TIME SAVER!!! As I put them into the slow cooker I thought "as long as they taste ok this is the way to do it"-freezing the head of cabbage IS THE WAY TO DO IT!!! I also use ground turkey or chicken because I can't eat red meat-this works out perfectly-and I add extra rice to make it a bit more economical. I don't like when people change so many things about a recipe then say 5 stars but I feel the changes I've made are more for saving time/money and the original would be even better. *Note I do like non-stringy (very soft cabbage) cabbage rolls-like well boiled cabbage-that is how it turns out with the freezing method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Cabbage Rolls II Haiku: "Bit of work to make. But really worth the effort. Should've made double!" I followed the recipe's ingredient list exactly, only baking 350 for about an hour, partially-covered, due to not having the slow-cooker time available. The only things that I wish I'd done differently was add some minced garlic, and prep more for leftovers or for freezing b/c I felt like it was a quite a bit of work for the 12 rolls that fed 3 of us (one of whom was a 6 year old), but SHAZAM, we obliterated them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States