Cabbage Rolls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
The filling was sorely lacking in flavor/seasoning. I'm thinking it could use a good amount of garlic, more onion, and perhaps even more salt....and something else, not sure what yet. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I have been making this for years. One of our standards during Christmas. Thanks for the tip about wilting the cabbage in the freezer first. That's the worse part, getting the cabbage ready. I do cook my meat first so I don't have to worry about the fat/liquid issue. Also I throw a can of sauerkraut over it before I bake it. I don't use a slow cooker because I feel they fall apart to easily. I bake in the oven. BTW this freezes well, so you can make enough for another meal on down the road, or take to a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
My family loved this as it is, no changes ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Needs more flavor as is but with additions it's pretty good. My Russian/Ukrainian side was satisfied. This is also a a good recipe to double if you want to freeze for later. Put half in a freezer bag with plenty of sauce and you've got a meal for another day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Romney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This recipe was great exactly as written - my whole family liked it. Thanks for the great recipe, I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
These are really great. They got done a little sooner too than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Treid these last night. I think it's a great base for a recipe. Given the fact I made changes to suit my own taste, I gave it a 3. Added additional spices to my meat mixture, as well as my sauce. I like bold flavours, so the basics just don't cut it for me. I also had a massive head of cabbage, so I used half a cup of filling per roll. They were huge, but sooo good! I also cooked them in the oven rather than slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
So Saturday, I got an email from allrecipes featuring this one for cabbage rolls. I read some of the reviews, applied the suggestions of other cooks, and they turned out really great! Modifications: I prepared the cabbage by peeling of the outside leaves, cutting out the core and putting it in very hot/boiling water. The leaves came off the head without tearing! And, I added garlic to the meat, which is a MUST, and I doubled the sauce. Oh, and I didn't have any lemon juice, so I substituted half as much apple cider vinegar. I also cut up the rest of the cabbage into bite-sized pieces and threw it in... Terrific meal! I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I really liked this recipe. Next time, I will remember to reduce the amount of pepper I just forgot this suggestion from others! I may also chop off the remnant cabbage and make a bed to put the rolls on and then pour the sauce. I may also not really double the recipe's sauce. Mine came out with too much of it. My 4 star rating stands mostly for the pepper content which I find too peppery for my taste and my stomach can not handle it well either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I made these for my Polish mother-in-law and my husband (who has eaten her family's recipe his whole life) and I got 2 thumbs up. She gave me a few suggestions based on her recipe. I do double the sauce recipe. I layer the rolls,sauce and sauerkraut in the crock pot this way.. little sauce, rolls, more sauce, sauerkraut then next layer of rolls, sauce, sauerkraut. End with sauce. Sometimes I sneak in brown rice instead of white and my husband never notices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 828) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States