Cabbage Rolls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Good taste. For me it makes almost 20 with an avg size head of cabbage and it's better to get 2 heads to get the big leafs that make it easier to wrap. Browning the beef shortens baking time- I did 30min. Didn't need to use a toothpick, wrapping in foil is good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I didn't like this, not at all what I was expecting. I like cabbage, like ground beef, like rice, like tomatoes ... but this just didn't taste. I did however kinda like the meat filling, hence the 2 stars, but won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This recipe was terrible! I should have listened to my instinct and browned the ground beef before assembling the cabbage rolls. After more than 50 minutes of cooking, the filling was a pinkish, pile of mush--inedible. I threw all of the rolls into the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Adding curry powder to taste gives it a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary McCabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
The cabbage is very tricky to work with, but the contents taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon J.
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe. I almost didn't use the cinnamon, but am glad I did. There were only smallish heads of cabbage at the grocer, so I ended up using 3 heads, and made 48 rolls. I sent some home with my in-laws, and froze some. They were even good re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Thanks for recipe, I used tomato soup and garlic instead of tomatoes and poured it on top......then put cheese on top of some and kids loved them...thanks again, will definately keep using in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Copper Cliff, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Great recipe!!! Changed a few things to make it easier. Used Hunt's spaghetti sauce insted of whole canned tomatoes. Great if you don't like chunks of tomato. Browned the meat and added onions, 1/2 the sauce, minced garlic, uncooked rice and bread crumbs. Used one big baking dish and covered it with the rest of the sauce. Spinkled with cheese the last 10 min of baking. My kids couldn't get enough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I added mushrooms and didn't boil my cabbage. It's a little harder to wrap but the cabbage taste better not boiled and the mushrooms where a great addition if you want a little more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monahans, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was great! Thank you for the recipe! Though, I did change a few things when I made it. I did not use cinnamon or bread crumbs. I added a little ground pepper, oregano, and caraway seeds to the mixture, instead. I poured some tomato sauce on the bottom of the pan and lined the bottom of the pan with some of the large, green, outer leaves of the cabbage so the rolls would not burn. Then I set the rolls on top and poured a can of tomato sauce over the top of the rolls. I did not individually wrap each roll in foil. I covered the whole baking dish with foil and cooked at 350 degrees for 1 hour. Then I uncovered the dish, and continued cooking for 30 minutes. I served with extra cooked rice. We really enjoyed it! Next time I do want to try them with the cinnamon, but my dinner partner doesn't like cinnamon so I left it out for the first time that I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States