Cabbage Roll Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
i made this recipe for dinner, one thing that really improved it was i added a package of stemmed mixed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BillG
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I definitely loved this hearty soup. But like others have said, you definitely need more water. I added a quart of canned tomatoes and still had to add 3 more cups of water. I need to play more with spices next time. And i like mine with Louisiana Hot Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitchen Kitty
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
pretty good soup, but very thick. I added diced tomatoes and used a brown rice/quinoa mixture. I also added some dried herbs (oregano, basil, garlic) and worcester. I parboiled my cabbage in the microwave while I browned the onions/meat mixture. I served with sour cream and cheese, but it tastes nice without as well. Made such a big pot, that I'll be freezing it for several meals. Kids even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by fossco85
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Was great as a base soup makes two whole pots. Way to much. Half every thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe!! I substituted the jar of pasta sauce with a 28 oz. can of Tutorusso Crushed Tomatoes with basil and instead of using a head of cabbage, I used a 14 oz. bag of shredded cole slaw mix (only for the sake of time and convenience). I also doubled the beef and added a bit more rice. I also seasoned the beef with a few envelopes of G. Washington beef flavored powdered bullion. Feel free to substitute the water with beef broth, too. This recipe makes a pretty large pot of soup. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Great! I too tweaked it by adding V-8 juice instead of the pasta sauce because I wanted more of a soup consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Yes I should have read the reviews, this soup does need tweaked a little but is a good base to start. Might need to cut down on the rice next time and add more spices just for added flavor but again a great base. Makes a huge pot of soup, too much for just the two of us. Guess I'll just freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a good hearty soup! I did tweak it after reading some reviews. I browned the meat with the onions and seasoned it with black pepper, salt and garlic. I only used half of the pasta sauce and added a can of diced tomatoes. I also added some celery salt after I mixed it all together. Simple recipe and my boyfriend loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I did cut the rice down to 1 cup and upped the water in the soup to 5 cups from the 2 cups the recipe called for. Tasted very close to cabbage rolls. I would try maybe adding more meat and maybe adding a pork/beef/veal mix like I would when I do Cabbage Rolls. Makes lots of a very thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Yes, this recipe did need about 3 additional cups of water to make it soup. I also had to add more spices (oregano, basil, worcestershire sauce and minced garlic) in order to give it more flavor. The concept is good but you need to be creative to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States