Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I make this often. I find if I'm in a hurry instant rice is used and I just cook it until the cabbage is done on stove top. It is good either way. Although, there is something special about cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I make this as a soup, and love it! I think the flavors combine much better this way. You can also throw in a little sauerkraut if you like it to be more tangy. I do the same thing, without sauerkraut, with unstuffed peppers. Same ingredients except cut the peppers up into large chunks, and make it soupy. Yum! And, for a change of pace, you can substitute noodles for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Like another reviewer, I made this on the stove. I added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of the tomato sauce and used cooked brown rice I had leftover from the other night. The brown rice stayed whole (didn't get mushy like white rice tends to get when over cooked) and the cabbage didn't over cook while waiting for the rice to cook). Healthy, fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haslet, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I make this all the time in our RV. It's a winner- try it and you can be creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I will definitely make this recipe again, I may never make the traditional rolls again. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lesho

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
The reason I like this version is because I live alone and to buy a Whole Head of Cabbage just to make a couple of Cabbage Rolls for dinner is way to much. Cheaper to buy a bag of Chopped Cabbage or Cole Slaw Mix then I follow the Directions adding extra spice to taste works so much better for me and I still can freeze left overs for later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Noonan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake George, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Visually not impressive. Good flavor. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene J Never
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I've been trying to find good recipes to substitute tofu for meat and this is a great one. Prepared it with hamburger the first time and it was 4 stars as written. Then substituted firm tofu and it was still 4 stars in my family. To appeal more to my family's tastes, I took cues from others and added garlic and onion powders as well as a few other spices that we like. This is a perfect, easy comfort casserole for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
As written I give it a 4.5. Very delicious as is and super easy. However, I prefer it with wild rice. So, I cook the wild rice in beef broth before cooking and, when I assemble the casserole I omit the extra liquid. Also, for a little variation, I sprinkle the top with shredded gruyère and turn up the oven during the last 10-15 minutes of cooking. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Love this! Super easy and super tasty. I don't cover the casserole when I bake it because I like the cabbage to come out crunchier. Any kind of stock works. Then each family member gets to garnish however s/he chooses - with cheese, sour cream, more onion, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Bacon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,049) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States