Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
great recipe.. the only change I made was I used tomato puree intstead of the beef broth and I sprinkled the dish with savory and tossed it before cooking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I loved this! Added plenty of salt, pepper, and garlic. Cooked on the stove instead of the oven. Looking forward to see how it tastes tomorrow. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have to give this a five-star rating! I JUST finished my second serving of this dish. Oh, my goodness! It is DElicious! My husband devoured it. I cut the portions down to a four-serving recipe and we still have leftovers. The sour cream on top ... nice touch. I added cayenne pepper, and always add lemon juice to 99% of what I cook up. All I can say is: THIS one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
OMG....I made this tonight. Like all the others I added ingredients. Lots of garlic, red pepper flakes, seasoned salt, and in place of some of the tomato sauce I added spicy V8. I cooked it on top the stove. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Really great recipe, pretty easy and very good as written! I did half it as others suggested. My second time around I did add garlic and Worcestershire, and cooked onion with the meat, I used turkey, and it did add very nice flavor. Also a bit more tomato sauce. I saw some say the rice came out hard, I did not have that issue, was perfect. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Made this for dinner last night. Subbed tomato soup for tomato sauce because that's how my Mom did it (and it was sooo good that way). I also used vegetable broth instead of water because I wanted more flavor, just not more "beefy" flavor. I spiced the ground beef with Montreal Steak seasoning and jazzed up tomato soup with 1 TB. Worcestershire sauce. Five stars for a great base recipe that allows for each family's preference of seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Guzauskas Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I rated this recipe 4 stars because of its ease in preparing, and because it tastes pretty good. I wouldn't say it was AMAZING or anything, but I really like cabbage, and I LOVE easy to make recipes, and this fits the bill. I took the advice of some others and made a few subtle changes. I halved the recipe and used 2 lbs of cabbage. I cooked it on the stovetop- in a Dutch oven. I used at least an extra cup of broth. I added onion, garlic, and seasoned salt to the meat while browning. The cook time was more like 30 minutes, but I like my cabbage quite soft. Next time, I'll add more rice, which will probably require more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was excellent! Tasted just like stuffed cabbage rolls but without the hassle. I did add some diced tomatoes and lowered amount of tomato sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Very tasty and easy to make with ingredients I generally have on hand. As others suggested, I browned the meat (I used ground turkey)with chopped onion, minced garlic, basil, oregano, and red pepper flakes. When the meat was almost done, I added the rice and continued frying for about 3-4 minutes. Then I stirred in the beef broth and tomato sauce and topped this mixture with the cabbage and cooked, covered, on the stove for 20-25 minutes (rice takes that long to cook at my 7500' elevation). Topped serving plates with shredded Mexican cheese - delicious! Omitted salt as tomato sauce & cheese are salty enough. Thanks for sharing this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I scaled it back from 12 servings to 4 and was glad I did because what I made completely filled our 12 x 14 baking dish. To keep my cardiologist happy, or at least less grouchy, I substituted ground turkey for ground beef. I added 1/4 cup olive oil to make up for the turkey being so dry. As I usually do, I went through several of the reviews and used many of their suggestions. I also looked at what the "The Flavor Bible" had to say about cooking cabbage and made some changes from it. Ingredient changes were spaghetti sauce with garlic instead of tomato sauce and chicken broth instead of beef. Ingredient additions for 4 servings were: 1 Tbl Worcestershire sauce, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, 1/4 tsp dry mustard, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, 2 Tbl white wine vinegar, and 1 Tbl brown sugar. I followed the cooking directions except that at 55 minutes I removed the aluminum foil cover (We don't have an oven proof lid for that dish.) and put it back in for 10 more minutes. The casserole was pretty pale at 55 minutes. The 10 minutes uncovered at 400 degrees gave it a nice "tan" with just a few feathers on the cabbage developing a char. The flavor was out of sight! The tomato chunks from the spaghetti sauce gave it a little color and the spices blended in very nicely with the other spices and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potlatch, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,058) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

One pot meal with cabbage, meat, tomatoes and seasonings.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States