Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I learned how to make cabbage rolls from an old friend that grew up in Romania. She put sauerkraut in the pot with the rolls and they are best I ever tasted. As I was too lazy to make them that way, I tried this recipe but substituted some of the cabbage with kraut. Another tip is to cut out the thick stem at the bottom of each cabbage leaf to cook faster. Also spiced it up a bit as suggested by other reviewers with garlic, black pepper, red pepper flakes and some italian herbs. Very yummy and way easier. makes tons!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I LOVE this !! It tastes just like stuffed cabbage rolls, but it is s0oo much easier to make then stuffed cabbage rolls. I added a can of diced tomatoes and green pepper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
So much easier than doing the time-consuming stuffed cabbage. I'm sure this is very good is as, but I wanted it to taste more like my "real" cabbage rolls, so I added some garlic powder and a bit of Worcestershire and A1 sauce. Served with garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Yes, my husband and I liked this recipe very much. It was very easy to make. I don't think I will add as much broth next time and I could only fit less than 2# of cabbage in my 9 x 13 dish. I used about 1/2 of a large cabbage. I used Minute instant brown rice. An Octoberfest beer and some crusty bread were a perfect accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Spaude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I liked this recipe. It was easy, and I was lazy and did it all in a skillet. It could have used a bit more seasoning, but that is just my taste. Even my husband who isn't much of a cabbage fan, had more than one helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was relatively easy to make for cooking-novice me, and it tastes so good! I did the "lazy method" suggested by another user of browning the hamburger and onion in a large pot, draining, and then adding all other ingredients to the pot and cooking for 15-20 minutes. I had already made my own tomato sauce ahead of time (attempting to use up the last of my garden harvest for the year), so I wanted to make quick work of this recipe. I should also note that I made 6 servings instead of the 12 that the recipe is written for...halving the recipe still made plenty! I shared the finished product with three friends, and there's still a lot left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This is soo yummy!! Like another reviewer mentioned, I make it on the stove. One pot. Super quick and easy. This is a staple in our house! I only gave it 4 stars, tho because I add 2c of rice, not 1. There's too much liquid left over w/just 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Yeah, I'm trying to figure out what happened here. I read A LOT of reviews and nobody mentioned that this wouldn't fit in the pan. Recipe calls for 3 1/2 lb cabbage. I used 2 1/2 lb cabbage and it was to the rim before I even added the broth. I was able to get half of the broth in there. High maintenance dish. A lot of work removing, stirring, and trying to fit the rest of broth in there along the way. Long story short: took 2 1/4 hours to properly cook cabbage and rice. In addition to seasoning the ground beef with S&P while browning it, I added 3T lemon juice, 2T Worcestershire sauce, and 3T brown sugar to tomato sauce because that is how I make my cabbage rolls and was shocked that we had to add additional salt and pepper once it was plated. But, I have to say, although it ended up being more work than making traditional cabbage rolls, we liked it better and will make it this way from now on, but in a bigger pan to eliminate the drama that it was:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I took cyndib's advice and made the whole thing on the stovestop; worked like a charm!!! After browning the beef in my large stock pot, I added the rest of the ingredients except the cabbage. I brought it to a boil, reduced to a simmer, and put the cabbage on top of it all (didn't stir it). Put the lid on and let everything simmer for 15 minutes; cabbage was nicely steamed and rice got cooked. I halved the recipe since I only have a family of 3, and that was very easy to do. Overall I really liked the flavor, though I did add plenty of salt, pepper, garlic powder, and 1Tb of brown sugar (to cut the tomato acidity). Nothing beats a homemade cabbage roll, but this was a good way to cheat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Even my ultra picky husband loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 954) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States