Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This was quite good! I do think the tomato sauce needs some seasoning, though (thus the four stars). If you have a favorite stuffed cabbage recipe, use that. I wasn't ecstatic about the combination I came up with this time - I added too much paprika - but I'll keep trying. I used veggie crumbles instead of ground meat, one bag of coleslaw mix and most of a bag of leftover sauerkraut (I know, totally not in keeping with the recipe, but it's cabbage, and I had to use it somehow). I also used brown rice. I cooked it all in the slow cooker, on low for 7 hours. It turned out really well! I'd like to try and make it in the oven sometime, but this wasn't the time. I will say that actual stuffed cabbage is far prettier than this, but I'm certain that we'll make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is bland. I added 2 teaspoons dried basil, 2 teaspoons dried oregano, and 2 Tablespoons brown sugar the second time I made it. It was good with the addition of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I love this kind of hearty and healthy casserole. I do use brown rice, and I added a can of diced tomatoes this last time that I made it. Enjoying leftover casserole tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Made with ground turkey. It was actually great. It makes a HHUGE pan. I used my lasagna pan.i think buying the bagged coleslaw mix helped save time. I still had to use a small head of cabbage. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hayden Denehy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Disappeared really fast...everyone loved it, and it was simple to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
One of my family's favorites! When I first tried this recipe I didn't have any beef broth in my pantry so I substituted a can of beer instead. I would not make it any other way! The flavor the beer adds is amazing. My family also prefers if I shred the cabbage into smaller pieces. We will be serving this one for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this last night and will definitely make it again. After reading the reviews, I loaded up on the spices while browning the meat, onions and I added green pepper. I also halved the recipe because it's just me and I'll take part of it to my elderly Mom. I used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and everything was cooked without being mushy. I think I cooked it 40 minutes, stirred and then another 20 so it was right at an hour. Very good if you love cabbage. I think carraway seeds would be good in this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this today and substituted Johnsonville mild Italian sausage for the beef. It added a wonderful flavor! This recipe is really easy to make and tastes good. However, the time in the oven is at least two hours or more. I lost track of how long my recipe baked but it was at least two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Delicious! I love cabbage rolls but I don't like making them. This is perfect! I think it's a little better with more tomato sauce but we all have our own tastes. As is, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this last night, exactly as written. I used a whole head of cabbage, and it make two 8 x 11 pans. The only thing I added was a cup of chopped tomatoes, as with all the cabbage, it seemed a little light on tomato. It was very good. I cooked it exactly 1 hour and it was cooked perfectly. I want to cook the second pan tonight and serve it with mashed potatoes, so I will probably add another can of tomato sauce and maybe another can of chopped potatoes so we have enough gravy for the potatoes. This was an easy and tasty recipe that will go in my recipe box. Thanks BUCHKO for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States