Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Made with ground turkey. It was actually great. It makes a HHUGE pan. I used my lasagna pan.i think buying the bagged coleslaw mix helped save time. I still had to use a small head of cabbage. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hayden Denehy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Disappeared really fast...everyone loved it, and it was simple to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
One of my family's favorites! When I first tried this recipe I didn't have any beef broth in my pantry so I substituted a can of beer instead. I would not make it any other way! The flavor the beer adds is amazing. My family also prefers if I shred the cabbage into smaller pieces. We will be serving this one for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this last night and will definitely make it again. After reading the reviews, I loaded up on the spices while browning the meat, onions and I added green pepper. I also halved the recipe because it's just me and I'll take part of it to my elderly Mom. I used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and everything was cooked without being mushy. I think I cooked it 40 minutes, stirred and then another 20 so it was right at an hour. Very good if you love cabbage. I think carraway seeds would be good in this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this today and substituted Johnsonville mild Italian sausage for the beef. It added a wonderful flavor! This recipe is really easy to make and tastes good. However, the time in the oven is at least two hours or more. I lost track of how long my recipe baked but it was at least two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Delicious! I love cabbage rolls but I don't like making them. This is perfect! I think it's a little better with more tomato sauce but we all have our own tastes. As is, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this last night, exactly as written. I used a whole head of cabbage, and it make two 8 x 11 pans. The only thing I added was a cup of chopped tomatoes, as with all the cabbage, it seemed a little light on tomato. It was very good. I cooked it exactly 1 hour and it was cooked perfectly. I want to cook the second pan tonight and serve it with mashed potatoes, so I will probably add another can of tomato sauce and maybe another can of chopped potatoes so we have enough gravy for the potatoes. This was an easy and tasty recipe that will go in my recipe box. Thanks BUCHKO for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This makes a HUGE amount. I had to use 2 pans. Might have been able to squeeze it into a lasagna pan. I thought I would have enough for 2 meals; when I came back, it was GONE!! My 4 kids scarfed it UP! I did add more seasoning and more rice. Used instant rice. Added nutmeg, garlic, pepper and whatever else I usually put in cabbage rolls. DELICIOUS!! I think I put some diced tomatoes in with the tomato sauce. I used pre-shredded cole slaw mix from Sams. Making again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I halved the meat, precooked the rice, add minced garlic to meat mixture, sprinkle with salt & pepper, used tomato juice (like my Mom used in regular cabbage rolls), steamed the cabbage leaves(devein center stem) for 1 or 2 minutes, and lastly added 1 can of-- sauerkraut (like my Mom did), rinsed and drained. I think the sauerkraut really makes this taste like cabbage rolls I had for supper growing up in NJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Some of the reviews said this was too bland. We used Rotel tomatoes instead of plain and we substituted the ground beef with tasso. It came out great with tons of great flavors in a true Louisiana fashion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 954) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States