Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Way better than the cabbage rolls that we usually fix! We loved it! It was delicious. Served it with homemade corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Very good recipe and so much less time consuming than stuffed cabbage rolls. I probably will never make cabbage rolls again due to the amount of time saved using this recipe and the similarity of the taste. I always chop up my cabbage rolls before I eat them anyway. I served with mashed potatoes. I definitely agree with other reviewers that the recipe as-is severely lacks seasoning. I added a few cloves of garlic, a teaspoon of pepper and at least triple the salt called for. Taste it after the first hour when you stir and adjust to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I found this recipe to be so easy. It did take some time, but it was worth the wait. I made some substitutions: instead of white rice, I used a blend of 1/2 cup wild rice and 1/2 quinoa. I precooked the meat with the onion and added some garlic. In the slow cooker on high it took about 6 hours to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
My mom used to make cabbage rolls and I never appreciated all that went into making them...I made this tonight as written - browning the onion with the ground beef and adding lots of spices!! It was delicious - makes a ton!!! I'll definitely make this again - possibly increasing the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This was very good family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Loved the simplicity and ease of this recipe! Had great taste and leftovers were even better the second day! I will never make cabbage rolls again. This was easily comparable in flavor and texture without all the extra fuss and time it takes to make them. Thanks a bunch for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Wonderful! I used this recipe to recycle leftovers and use what was in the pantry for a delicious, original meal: I had 1/2 a compact medium head of cabbage to use up, half a vidalia onion and leftover meatloaf. Tossed chopped onion and two cloves of garlic with the chunked up meatloaf into my iron skillet with a tad of oil, and cooked til the onions were tender. Added a can of Rotel (we like it spicy here, and got this recipe to use what I had 'on hand') and a can of tomato paste which was watered down to tomato sauce consistency. Let that simmer for a good 10 minutes or so, then added the cabbage and cooked in skillet for a good 30 minutes or so - perfection! Some Parmesan cheese added on top with a tad of sea salt and red pepper flakes (as individual tastes happened for the family - the meatloaf also had spices added originally) and we have a winner! It makes a ton, even without the rice. Definitely going into our work lunches tomorrow, and will be a quick and tasty heat up for dinner when we get home late, we don't mind eating this recipe many times over. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I was worried when others said this was bland, but I enjoy it that way. I did add more salt and pepper, but I made it with my tomatoes and cabbage from my garden, and I enjoyed the flavor of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This made my whole family happier than I could have imagined. My grandmother was Lithuanian and made Haluplies (cabbage rolls) that everyone adored. We've been able to match them over the years BUT my husband and I would take a whole Saturday to do it! I used this recipe adding garlic and Heinz "Hot" ketchup (mixed with hot water) in place of one can of beef broth like my grandmother and nailed it!!!! Rice and cabbage were perfect (no one likes "crunchy" cabbage here)and the flavor was great. Thanks Buchko!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Better than cabbage rolls. The cabbage just seemed to soften up a bit better than cabbage rolls and remained more moist. The less stringy texture was enjoyed by all. As most reviewers noted, increasing the spices is a good idea, and my family enjoyed it topped off with ketchup at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States