Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I give it one star, even though your site says that means I couldn't eat it. I'm a depression era baby so I eat what's on the table. But as written, it was as bland as a dish could be. And fitting a 3.5 pound chopped cabbage into a 9"x 13" dish along with the other ingredients would be worth seeing. Think I'll watch the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made this yesterday, and my husband loved it. Next time I make it (and I will) , I am going to add some garlic, and some diced tomatoes. I used unsalted tomatoe sauce, so I added a little extra salt & pepper. Might add a can of sauerkraut as per some of the comments I read. Easy & very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Next time I will use the advice of the first reviewer and cook it on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very tasty and even better the next day. Comfort food without all the calories. Rye bread pairs well with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Idea is great! I put a layer of cabbage, tomato sauce, then rice and meat --already mixed together with seasoning, then more sauce, cabbage, rice and meat, etc. top layer should be cabbage. Cover completely with tomato sauce. Bake at 3:50 until done. Note, precook cabbage enough to pull off leaves. I do not cook ground beef, just add it raw with rice, finely chopped onions and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I will stick with regular cabbage rolls. This dish lacked depth and flavor, needing seasoning in the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I make this often. I find if I'm in a hurry instant rice is used and I just cook it until the cabbage is done on stove top. It is good either way. Although, there is something special about cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I make this as a soup, and love it! I think the flavors combine much better this way. You can also throw in a little sauerkraut if you like it to be more tangy. I do the same thing, without sauerkraut, with unstuffed peppers. Same ingredients except cut the peppers up into large chunks, and make it soupy. Yum! And, for a change of pace, you can substitute noodles for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Like another reviewer, I made this on the stove. I added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of the tomato sauce and used cooked brown rice I had leftover from the other night. The brown rice stayed whole (didn't get mushy like white rice tends to get when over cooked) and the cabbage didn't over cook while waiting for the rice to cook). Healthy, fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haslet, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I make this all the time in our RV. It's a winner- try it and you can be creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,055) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States