Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this last night, exactly as written. I used a whole head of cabbage, and it make two 8 x 11 pans. The only thing I added was a cup of chopped tomatoes, as with all the cabbage, it seemed a little light on tomato. It was very good. I cooked it exactly 1 hour and it was cooked perfectly. I want to cook the second pan tonight and serve it with mashed potatoes, so I will probably add another can of tomato sauce and maybe another can of chopped potatoes so we have enough gravy for the potatoes. This was an easy and tasty recipe that will go in my recipe box. Thanks BUCHKO for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This makes a HUGE amount. I had to use 2 pans. Might have been able to squeeze it into a lasagna pan. I thought I would have enough for 2 meals; when I came back, it was GONE!! My 4 kids scarfed it UP! I did add more seasoning and more rice. Used instant rice. Added nutmeg, garlic, pepper and whatever else I usually put in cabbage rolls. DELICIOUS!! I think I put some diced tomatoes in with the tomato sauce. I used pre-shredded cole slaw mix from Sams. Making again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I halved the meat, precooked the rice, add minced garlic to meat mixture, sprinkle with salt & pepper, used tomato juice (like my Mom used in regular cabbage rolls), steamed the cabbage leaves(devein center stem) for 1 or 2 minutes, and lastly added 1 can of-- sauerkraut (like my Mom did), rinsed and drained. I think the sauerkraut really makes this taste like cabbage rolls I had for supper growing up in NJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Some of the reviews said this was too bland. We used Rotel tomatoes instead of plain and we substituted the ground beef with tasso. It came out great with tons of great flavors in a true Louisiana fashion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was very good. Just note...this makes ALOT! Consider halving the recipe at least. (unless cooking for 20+ people. :) freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This casserole was very easy to make nothing to it actually.... I did however feel that it lacked some spices and flavor... I added some black pepper and that seemed to help but something was still missing maybe next time I will experiment a little more and read other reviews... But after the hour and a half of baking it was no longer runny and thickened up quite nicely... My brother did mention that he might like it better if it was layered and not all missed together... It may be worth trying as well rice,meat, then cabbage with the tomato sauce and broth over everything... Not sure how that would work though.... As written it is a very simple and good tasting casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I've made this a few times and I really enjoy it. I make this recipe on Sunday night inorder to have lunches during the week. I attempted to use brown rice once for a healthier alternative but it didn't work well. It didn't cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Good and easy. I had only halved the recipe and baked it in a 7x11 pan for the hour. I would've preferred a little bit more rice though, but thats just my preference, may add a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this tonight for supper, taste was awesome i had added some more salt and some other spices. My cooking time was longer for some reason i found the cabbage was taking forever to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I thought this recipe was great. Makes a ton, as others mentioned, but also delicious for leftovers. I cooked in a 6-qt(?, large, anyway) Le Creuset dutch oven, which is definitely the way to go, and cooked the meat in it first, as someone else suggested. Also as suggested, cooked for much less time (1/2 hour?, stirring halfway) and added stuff to up the flavor: lots of garlic, also paprika, worcestershire and some caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 948) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States