Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was excellent! Tasted just like stuffed cabbage rolls but without the hassle. I did add some diced tomatoes and lowered amount of tomato sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Very tasty and easy to make with ingredients I generally have on hand. As others suggested, I browned the meat (I used ground turkey)with chopped onion, minced garlic, basil, oregano, and red pepper flakes. When the meat was almost done, I added the rice and continued frying for about 3-4 minutes. Then I stirred in the beef broth and tomato sauce and topped this mixture with the cabbage and cooked, covered, on the stove for 20-25 minutes (rice takes that long to cook at my 7500' elevation). Topped serving plates with shredded Mexican cheese - delicious! Omitted salt as tomato sauce & cheese are salty enough. Thanks for sharing this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I scaled it back from 12 servings to 4 and was glad I did because what I made completely filled our 12 x 14 baking dish. To keep my cardiologist happy, or at least less grouchy, I substituted ground turkey for ground beef. I added 1/4 cup olive oil to make up for the turkey being so dry. As I usually do, I went through several of the reviews and used many of their suggestions. I also looked at what the "The Flavor Bible" had to say about cooking cabbage and made some changes from it. Ingredient changes were spaghetti sauce with garlic instead of tomato sauce and chicken broth instead of beef. Ingredient additions for 4 servings were: 1 Tbl Worcestershire sauce, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, 1/4 tsp dry mustard, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, 2 Tbl white wine vinegar, and 1 Tbl brown sugar. I followed the cooking directions except that at 55 minutes I removed the aluminum foil cover (We don't have an oven proof lid for that dish.) and put it back in for 10 more minutes. The casserole was pretty pale at 55 minutes. The 10 minutes uncovered at 400 degrees gave it a nice "tan" with just a few feathers on the cabbage developing a char. The flavor was out of sight! The tomato chunks from the spaghetti sauce gave it a little color and the spices blended in very nicely with the other spices and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potlatch, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Loved it! Have an exchange student from Russia living with us and he said it's similar to something his mother makes back home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Instead of tomato sauce I use tomato soup gives it a much better flavor...I have been making it this way since my children were young now they are adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Made it tonight. We loved it. So easy to make; however, I used ground turkey and brown rice since we eat very little beef and prefer brown rice. I did cut the recipe in half; that is 1 lb of ground turkey and about 1-1/2 lbs of cabbage, but it still filled a 9x13 baking dish. The outside temp tonight was 16 deg, so this was an excellent "warm up " dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I give it one star, even though your site says that means I couldn't eat it. I'm a depression era baby so I eat what's on the table. But as written, it was as bland as a dish could be. And fitting a 3.5 pound chopped cabbage into a 9"x 13" dish along with the other ingredients would be worth seeing. Think I'll watch the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made this yesterday, and my husband loved it. Next time I make it (and I will) , I am going to add some garlic, and some diced tomatoes. I used unsalted tomatoe sauce, so I added a little extra salt & pepper. Might add a can of sauerkraut as per some of the comments I read. Easy & very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Next time I will use the advice of the first reviewer and cook it on top of the stove. Following the recipe, the dish did not turnout right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Quick question... I am very busy so has anyone, cooked the ground beef the night before along with onions, then the next morning place everything else in the crock pot on low? Is this an option?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,022) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States