Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I liked the idea of such an easy dish, but I took the laziness a step further, when I make this (twice now and third time will be tonight), Just brown the meat and onion in a large pot, then drain and put it back in, add the rest of the ingredients and put a lid on it. 15 minutes later the cabbage is steamed, the rice is perfect and I just glop it in bowl with a dallop of sour cream. Must be the busy mom in me that gets so shortcutty! You can use chicken broth instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was really tasty! I read through a ton of reviews and two things stood out -- the dish needs more seasoning and it can become mushy when cooked 1-1/2 hrs. Taking that into consideration, I socked the seasoning to the meat/onion while it was browning -- salt & pepper, a lot of garlic, oregano and basil and a heavy dose of both red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper. Also sprinkled some of all those things over the cabbage I'd chopped (I estimate 10-12 cups, fairly large head). To avoid "mushy" cabbage, I gave the rice a head start -- added the tomato sauce & half the broth to the browned meat/onion, then stirred in the rice, turned the burner off and let it hang out for about 10-15 mins. I tossed it all together in a large bowl, poured into lasagna dish (way too much for 9x13) and baked covered for 50 mins. Excellent! Rice cooked perfectly and cabbage, while softened, still had a slight crunch. Try this one, and don't be afraid to add a LOT of seasonings! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
818 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I would like to say that if someone didn't like this receipe, that they did something wrong or they just don't like cabbage. I love this recipe! I found this recipe about a year ago and I have fixed it probaly 10 times since then. I usually fix it when we have company (because it makes so much)and everyone asks for a copy of the recipe. I usually add more tomato sauce than it calls for and I use one medium head of cabbage no matter what it weighs. I add more salt than it calls for and I add plenty of black pepper. It taste just like moms stuffed cabbage without all the work. Mom even says so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
449 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This is so GOOD & EASY !!! I make it even simpler by putting it all in a crockpot...only use long cooking rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
This casserole was easy to make and delicious. I did add a variety of spices, as suggested in earlier reviews, including Worstechsire sauce, a dash of hot sauce, garlic and nutmeg and a little vinegar to draw out the tomatoes. I used ground turkey to reduce the fat, and, possibly due to using drier meat, needed to add another cup and a half of tomato sauce. I served it to company and they kept going back for 'just another bite' well after we left the table and took a copy of the recipe home with them. This recipe will make many appearances at my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I thought this recipe was absolutely delicious. It was so tasty I had to have a second helping. Like some of the others, I also cut the recipe in half, using 1 lb. ground beef, 1/2 an onion, 1/2 a large head of cabbage, 1 can of beef broth (14 oz), 2 cans (8 oz) of tomato sauce and 1 cup of rice. The only extra seasoning I added was salt. I turned up the temperature to 400 and found it was done in an hour. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I made this last night. I added some garlic powder and some pepper to the meat while it was cooking. I also cooked the onions with the meat. Stirred the rice into the pot with the meat and onions. In a large, deep, foil roasting pan, I put a layer of cabbage and covered that with the meat/rice mixture. I poured a cup of beef broth over the top and then added the spaghetti sauce on top of everything. Covered with foil, and baked for 45 minutes. After 45 min, I took it out of the oven, stirred it all together and then turned the oven down to 225 because I had to go out for an hour. When we came back and had a taste test, it was PERFECT. My BF loves my cooking, but he had 2 servings for his taste test, took some for his lunch today and wants me to make it again on the weekend! I haven't seem him rave like this in a long time. Thank you Nancy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Like a real cabbage roll, this recipe tastes better as leftovers, when the flavours have blended. I modified the recipe quantities quite a bit so that I wouldn't end up with 2 9x13 pans of the stuff. I guess I didn't cut back enough - I had a 6qt slow cooker full! I added more rice and broth (1.5 c rice, 3 c broth), some diced tomatoes (14 oz), and a dash of chili powder, as well. If you're going to slow-cooker this, you'll need about 6 hours on high, minimum, to cook the cabbage (I used 3 hours to start, and we crunched our way through supper the first nite!). This is excellent served with sour cream and/or a nippy cheddar sprinkled on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This dish is fantastic. I made it last night for my family and they truly enjoyed it. Even my picky hubby liked it! I followed the recipe exactly, but I used a lasagna pan andsprinkled on a little pepper and garlic powder before baking. I baked it for the first hour, covered with foil at 350F. Then we had to go away!!! I turned the oven down to 250F and loosened the foil. It was done to a T when we returned home. I served mashed potatoes and bread with this meal and everyone raved about it. Daughter took the recipe home with her. Makes a lot!!! Great one-dish dinner with plenty left for lunches or another dinner. This would be a good dish to take to a pot-luck supper, etc. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I used ground Turkey instead of ground beef for a healthier version. I added garlic and sauted it with the meat and onion. I also added paprika and oregano. It was really good and tasted even better the next day. This is a good, healthy way to incorporate cabbage in your diet, which is really good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,058) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

One pot meal with cabbage, meat, tomatoes and seasonings.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States