Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Loved the simplicity and ease of this recipe! Had great taste and leftovers were even better the second day! I will never make cabbage rolls again. This was easily comparable in flavor and texture without all the extra fuss and time it takes to make them. Thanks a bunch for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Wonderful! I used this recipe to recycle leftovers and use what was in the pantry for a delicious, original meal: I had 1/2 a compact medium head of cabbage to use up, half a vidalia onion and leftover meatloaf. Tossed chopped onion and two cloves of garlic with the chunked up meatloaf into my iron skillet with a tad of oil, and cooked til the onions were tender. Added a can of Rotel (we like it spicy here, and got this recipe to use what I had 'on hand') and a can of tomato paste which was watered down to tomato sauce consistency. Let that simmer for a good 10 minutes or so, then added the cabbage and cooked in skillet for a good 30 minutes or so - perfection! Some Parmesan cheese added on top with a tad of sea salt and red pepper flakes (as individual tastes happened for the family - the meatloaf also had spices added originally) and we have a winner! It makes a ton, even without the rice. Definitely going into our work lunches tomorrow, and will be a quick and tasty heat up for dinner when we get home late, we don't mind eating this recipe many times over. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I was worried when others said this was bland, but I enjoy it that way. I did add more salt and pepper, but I made it with my tomatoes and cabbage from my garden, and I enjoyed the flavor of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This made my whole family happier than I could have imagined. My grandmother was Lithuanian and made Haluplies (cabbage rolls) that everyone adored. We've been able to match them over the years BUT my husband and I would take a whole Saturday to do it! I used this recipe adding garlic and Heinz "Hot" ketchup (mixed with hot water) in place of one can of beef broth like my grandmother and nailed it!!!! Rice and cabbage were perfect (no one likes "crunchy" cabbage here)and the flavor was great. Thanks Buchko!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Better than cabbage rolls. The cabbage just seemed to soften up a bit better than cabbage rolls and remained more moist. The less stringy texture was enjoyed by all. As most reviewers noted, increasing the spices is a good idea, and my family enjoyed it topped off with ketchup at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This was quite good! I do think the tomato sauce needs some seasoning, though (thus the four stars). If you have a favorite stuffed cabbage recipe, use that. I wasn't ecstatic about the combination I came up with this time - I added too much paprika - but I'll keep trying. I used veggie crumbles instead of ground meat, one bag of coleslaw mix and most of a bag of leftover sauerkraut (I know, totally not in keeping with the recipe, but it's cabbage, and I had to use it somehow). I also used brown rice. I cooked it all in the slow cooker, on low for 7 hours. It turned out really well! I'd like to try and make it in the oven sometime, but this wasn't the time. I will say that actual stuffed cabbage is far prettier than this, but I'm certain that we'll make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is bland. I added 2 teaspoons dried basil, 2 teaspoons dried oregano, and 2 Tablespoons brown sugar the second time I made it. It was good with the addition of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I love this kind of hearty and healthy casserole. I do use brown rice, and I added a can of diced tomatoes this last time that I made it. Enjoying leftover casserole tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Made with ground turkey. It was actually great. It makes a HHUGE pan. I used my lasagna pan.i think buying the bagged coleslaw mix helped save time. I still had to use a small head of cabbage. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hayden Denehy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Disappeared really fast...everyone loved it, and it was simple to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,002) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States