Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I couldn't understand why so many reviews said it was bland, when the ingredients are pretty close to the same as my cabbage rolls, and they are anything but bland. I made it with half a recipe ( I would not have had a bowl big enough to mix it in otherwise)but used the full amount of tomato sauce, and it was barely enough sauce so I added a can of chopped tomatoes. After cooking 1 and 1/2 hours the cabbage was still crunchier than I like and IT WAS BLAND. Next time I will try it with the exact ingredients for my cabbage rolls- two large cans of tomato juice instead of one can of tomato sauce, and no broth, and cook it for 3 hours like I do my cabbage rolls ( the beef is not precooked) and see how I like it since I think a lot of the flavour comes from the length of cooking- some of the reviewers have commented how it is better the next day and the sauce thickens up while cooking ( some have commented it is too runny)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Comfort food 101. This was good! We loved it! It is now on our list of recipes. I love the ease of it!! I added some garlic, though like others said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
this was super easy and super tasty . I made this a one pot meal as another user suggested and added spices and both purple and green cabbage . This will become a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My kids love these even more than cabbage rolls!! Works great for me because cabbage rolls are a lot of work. This recipe is EASY. I throw everything in the crock pot on low and cook till done. How much easier can it get? Kids love it with a dollop of sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
needs more tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is an awesome recipe!! My husband does not like cabbage and has asked me to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very nice option that is quicker than cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
WOW, This was fantastic and super easy. It does though make a lot. I used am 11 x 14 x 2-1/2 inch dish and only 3 lbs of cabbage (by accident) and it came to the top. I am going to recalculate it for 9 servings the next time. I did add a little oregano, granulated garlic. Not sure what difference it made but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wantagh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
With more seasoning (nutmeg, red pepper, garlic, salt, pepper), this was amazing! I also did what others suggested and cooked in a large pot on the stove - no need for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clyde, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I took out the animal ingredients by using the Boca crumbles, and I used 1 jar of pasta sauce with Basil, and one can of tomato sauce, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 948) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States