Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
As others have mentioned, I thought this needed a lot more seasoning. I added salt, pepper, paprika, worchester sauce, lemon juice and brown sugar (all the seasonings I put in my cabbage rolls). This is pure comfort food, could eat it every day! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
My fiance is a huge stuffed cabbage roll fan, so I grabbed this for him and surprised him with it. I made this according to the recipe, but it made way too much for us, so next time I will definitely half or even quarter the recipe. It was really good, and he said it tasted just like cabbage rolls. It is definitely on the make again list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Used V8 juice in the place of tomato sauce. Added a clove of minced garlic. Also used a bag of shredded cabbage as a shortcut. Tasted great, will have again. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Mountain Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I've made this a few times now and it's always so yummy! I recommend shredding or slicing the cabbage thinly and I think Napa cabbage, with it's lighter flavor, is a little better in this dish. I've never used 2lbs of beef - generally no more than 1.5lbs. Also, I've found it much easier to cook the onions and salt with the beef, then mix in the rice and most of the tomato sauce. Layer the cabbage on the bottom of the baking dish and top with the beef mixture. I then mix the remaining tomato sauce with one can of beef broth and pour it on top, followed by the 2nd can of broth. Mix well after the first hour as directed -- the cabbage will have cooked down a lot so it's much easier. Try it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Triple the spice and minus the tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made this dish Sunday night and it was a hit. I didn't have ground beef so I used mild italian sausage which was a really good choice. I only used 1 cup of beef broth, a good amount of italian seasonings....it was goood....we had enough for several days. Oh, my side dish was yams...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jorja

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I think the recipe was plenty flavorful. I followed the directions but the rice was still hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I dislike cabbage rolls because of the soggy cabbage but wanted to try something for my husband that loves cabbage rolls. I followed discobunny's suggestions and this turned out to be a great dish that the whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I couldn't understand why so many reviews said it was bland, when the ingredients are pretty close to the same as my cabbage rolls, and they are anything but bland. I made it with half a recipe ( I would not have had a bowl big enough to mix it in otherwise)but used the full amount of tomato sauce, and it was barely enough sauce so I added a can of chopped tomatoes. After cooking 1 and 1/2 hours the cabbage was still crunchier than I like and IT WAS BLAND. Next time I will try it with the exact ingredients for my cabbage rolls- two large cans of tomato juice instead of one can of tomato sauce, and no broth, and cook it for 3 hours like I do my cabbage rolls ( the beef is not precooked) and see how I like it since I think a lot of the flavour comes from the length of cooking- some of the reviewers have commented how it is better the next day and the sauce thickens up while cooking ( some have commented it is too runny)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States