Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I make this a few times a year since finding it. The hubby and the kids both love. We season ours up a bit as well. I also switch out ingredients as needed if my pantry is lacking. We have swapped diced tomatoes with basil and oregano for the sauce many times. I like to brown my beef with onion and minced garlic. And I'm super lazy with my stove, so it all goes in a crock except the rice. I cook that separate in broth and tomatoes and and add when we eat. Never had a problem with mushy cabbage, only with mushy rice IF cooking IN the crock pot. It's cooking again today. Kids can't wait for dinner. The aroma is driving them crazy. Thank you for such a easy fix to a long original. It's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJBOWMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carthage, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
very good. i made extra rice to put the dish over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe many times now and we love it. I served it for my book club luncheon and it was a big hit! It is easy to make and so delicious...especially on a cold snowy evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Easy and delicious. I added some of my grandmother's ingredients for stuffed cabbage. I used half ground beef and half ground pork and browned with the rice to make it fluffy. As suggested added garlic. To give it some zip and saltiness I used a jar of sauerkraut (drained)as well as the cabbage and half tomato sauce and half V8 Juice. Simmered in a pot about 40 min. Will definitely add to our "hit" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
We really liked this recipe but did have to add some spices (garlic, dry mustard, Worcestershire sauce, celery salt)and replaced some of the tomato sauce with chilli sauce. Made it super tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I looooove this recipe and is easy. I add garlic and top with shredded cheddar cheese. I like to make enough to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I read the reviews and made a couple of changes, I didn't brown the meat first and added minced garlic, pepper and season all. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
To reduce cooking time and give more flavour to the cabbage: Boil the chopped cabbage in salt water just until all denté (do not overcook). Leave cabbage separate from the other ingredients. I used a mix of tomato soup/tomato sauce. Cook the onions with the hamburg. Mix remaining ingredients, except cabbage, with the hamburg. Add spices to taste. I layered as follows: Cabbage by itself in the bottom of the pan; top with the other ingredients; top with cheese and broil in the oven until cheese is bubbling. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was really easy & very tasty! Like a lot of other reviewers, I did add more seasonings & made it in a pot on the stove & it was fabulous! I will definitely make this again & again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cloverdale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Yes. So much easier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 948) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States