Cabbage, Potato, and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Made the soup and added 1 cup more water , and only 1/4 head of cabbage as it was all I had. I will make again as my husband who is fussy liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weslaco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is hands down the best soup recipe I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I thought it was a delicious and hardy soup. I made a few mild changes & bear in mind I halved the recipe: 1. tomato paste instead of ketchup 2. Used caraflax cabbage from the garden, one whole head but likely the equivalent of 1/2 a large head of cabbage from the store. 3. Closer to 4 potatos (smallish) again from the garden. I used yukon gold and fingerlings. It's what I had. 4. Topped with shredded cheddar...I LOVE cheese. 5. Onion powder-- onions are evil. 6. Upped tomatos to 20 oz (fresh romas & standard red) instead of 14 oz. The only other change I might make in the future is to use stock instead of bouillon cubes. Overall, I found this soup very filling but perhaps its because I upped the cabbage/potato quantities. Mine was much thicker than that pictured above. While you could add sausage to it, I see no reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
A simple, hearty soup. I doubled the cooking time, however, as the potatoes were not quite where I wanted them. I substituted vegetable bouillon for the chicken without a problem, and also added a few mushrooms I had in the fridge. I imagine corn would be good in this, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Excellent recipe! I did alter it a little: I used Italian diced tomatoes; I used 4 cups of vegetable stock plus another 14.5 oz. can of water instead of the chicken bouillon, to make it vegetarian; I used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste instead of the ketchup; and I used a tsp. ground red pepper instead of the hot sauce. It was really good. It went very well with a side of crusty bread; you could probably add some orzo or elbow macaroni to it also and it'd be great. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was really delicious and a great, great, great way to get super healthy cabbage onto the menu. I added more cabbage (because I'm a fan) and kept the tabasco sauce handy so people could add more if they wanted (which some did). I also used tomato puree instead of ketchup, one bullion cube instead of two, and more than doubled the Italian seasoning - but it still came out great!! Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Absolutely loved this soup! Just add a pound of ground beef to it so my husband would find it more appealing, he did love it as well. I actually doubled the amount of water and bouillon cubes as well so we could freeze some. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera Jelacic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Very very good! I turned it into a roast beef soup by making with sliced roast beef and au juice instead of chicken broth for something different, and added a touch of cayenne... Definitely will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
The ketchup really changes the taste. I added the ketchup last and tasted the soup before and after, and I greatly preferred the taste before. That said, my kids and husband loved this soup, and I think the ketchup made it for them. So, it just depends how much you like ketchup. I also objected to the 1/4 cup of butter because my goal in making soups is generally to make a healthy dish, but I must admit the butter was yummy. I doubled the hot sauce and no one thought it was too hot, including my 4-year old. (I used Cholula). This soup was a great way to get rid of cabbage and potatoes, and it was more substantial than I expected. I served it as a side but would probably serve it as a meal next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Huge hit with the entire family. Added some extra carrots and it made a very hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States