Cabbage, Potato and Baked Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
Well, I was surfing for cabbage recipes- cabbage is cheap and I am broke. I was skeptical about this recipe but had all the ingredients on hand so what the heck? I was surprised- this soup is rather quite yummy and rich tasting. And considering it cost about $2 to make well worth it. I will make it again. I would recommend using a low sodim broth, it came out a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
What a great soup for a winter meal. I cut up some leftover ham and added that to the pot too. I also had to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I tried this recipe on a whim and it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. My 12 year old ate 3 bowls (amazing for her!) and my husband said he enjoyed it. I doubt I will make this again, unless I use some variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
yyuumm. this was the base of a wonderful meal.I added a tin of chopped tomatoes used an ordinary tin of baked beans,added some carrots,and garlic.And towards the end i added canned corned beef.I just threw it all in one pot and let it simmer away for about 30mins.It was a huge hit with the family will definateley make this again thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This soup is definitely a keeper. Super easy to make, I threw it all in the pot together and let it simmer away. I love how it is low-cal and high-fiber too. Different and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was a tasty soup, but I did not like the texture of the beans with the soup. Next time I make it I will just add tomato sauce instead of the can of beans. I skipped the direction of cooking the vegetables first and just added them to the broth. Also basal and garlic powder improved the taste of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Quick, Easy, Cheap and Tasty. What more could one ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I love cabbage in soup, so I enjoyed this recipe and found it very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Pretty good, but a little bland....I would try to add more of a tomato base to it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This is a great basic recipe, with lots of room for customization (different veggies, beans etc etc) My biggest problem with making it as written was that it was extremely unappetizing looking. If I were to make it again, I would add a bit of color with red potatoes with the skin on, carrots, bell pepper etc. But anyway, this is a great start for a healthy, easy and inexpensive meal. Thanks, Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States