Cabbage, Potato and Baked Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was really good with a few additions. I thought it needed a more tomato base and I had a 1/2 jar of leftover spaghetti sauce in the fridge so I added that, about 2 tbsp lemon vinegar, juice of 1/2 lemon, I also added 1 sliced carrot with the veggies at the beginning. I used vegetarian baked beans instead of pork and beans. I simmered the soup for about 2 hours and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmelbook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
made as written except added chopped carrots and only used one small potato. comfort food for sure. thanks for the post Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I doctored this up a bit and enjoyed it very much. I added carrots and bell pepper to the other veggies. At the end, I added a can of tomato paste, so it turned out to be a tomato-vegetable soup. I almost added ground turkey, but didn't. I also thought about adding chunks of ham. I think either would have made it even better. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Made this last night and was pleased with the result. Almost forgot the can of baked beans but added it just before it was too late. I also added 1 carrot with the other veggies and 1 clove of garlic before the final heat along with 1/2 tsp of basil. Next time I'll probably cut the basil down to 1/4 tsp. Cooked the cabbage for about 15 minutes, stirring every 5. My beans were a big tin of Bush's southern pit bbq beans as that is all I had. Tasted surprisingly good but the house still smelt a bit of cooked cabbage ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe but I wanted a little more spice. I added one package of Lawry's spaghetti sauce powder. I also added 1 lb. of pork meat and 1 large can of diced tomatoes. I cooked it in the crock pot. Thank you for the recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this soup yesterday on a snowy day and found it to be easy, and quick to make. Upon tasting it, I felt it was rather bland, and not enough broth. On a whim, I added one more can of chicken broth and a can of condensed tomato soup. It made a big difference in the flavor, and it was hard to stop eating! I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Awesome. I oil and kosher salt the potatoes before baking. I make several extras and freeze them individually for future use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Pretty good, but a little bland....I would try to add more of a tomato base to it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I also found this recipe to be bland. Adding some ham or smoked sausage helped a lot. Another thing that helped was adding some apple cider vinegar, 2 tablespoons or more, added just the right zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was a hearty and tasty soup that was simple to make in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States