Cabbage, Polish Sausage, and Pierogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
we loved this recipe, I made it last evening. I kept the pierogies separate from the cabbage-kleibasa mixture,and just spooned the mixture over them. My husband and I both loved it, and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
My family really enjoyed this recipe. It was a nice change from just plain sausage and cabbage. I agree with the others about setting aside the pierogies so they won't get soggy. All in all, the turnout had awesome flavor and was quite filling. Good Job Abraxis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I used half of butter that was called for in the original recipe to quickly sauté onion, garlic, mushroom, and cabbage, before chicken stock (substitute for beer) was added. I also browned Polish sausage in another pan in its own grease. Because I liked my sausage juicy with some crispy texture, I put it into cabbage mixture at very end. I also reserved some sausage grease for pan-frying pierogies. The remaining of sausage grease I pulled into cabbage mixture to enhance the flavor. It turned out great. I love my first pierogie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was very good and very heavy!! I had a helping and didn't move from the sofa for an hour!! Very tasty and definitely needs categorized as comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Reading over this recipe I really liked the ingredient list, but not the cooking methods. Way too many pots, not in the mood for washing. I turned this into a 1 pot meal by first boiling and frying the pierogies in a large frying pan. I removed them from the pan and set them aside. Next I added the mushrooms, onions and garlic in the same pan and sauteed until tender in some oil (did not use the 1/2 cup of butter at all). I then dumped in everything else except the liquids. I used chicken stock instead of beer (all I had) and mixed the Worcestershire and vinegar with the stock, and then added to the pan. Simmered the whole mess until the cabbage was tender and most of the liquid was reduced. Worked very well and was very good! This would also be good with noodles instead of pierogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Great! the only thing I changed was I did not put my pierogies in with the cabbage mixture. I fried with some bacon and olive oil and kept seperate. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I scaled back the seasoned salt to 1 tsp, used Hillshire Farms chicken smoked sausage, and browned the pierogies in butter rather than oil, otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. Try to make just enough for dinner because it doesn't look too appetizing after it sits for a while (but cooked cabbage never does), and I doubt that I'd serve it for leftovers. This was pretty easy to prepare and tasted OK, but didn't wow us like I hoped it would. But then, that could be just a personal taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was pretty tasty. Next time I think after pan frying the pierogies in a little butter (1 -2 tablespoons) will just set them aside instead of adding them to the mixture and just serve the mixture over them because they were a tad soggy, BUT it still tasted good. Followed recipe exactly. Was a nice change. Will make again. Thanks for posting. UPDATE: Made this again. Turkey kielbasa is a nice substitute. We love the flavor is it's so much more healthier. I usually buy the Butterball brand, 3 ounces is 6 grams of fat vs. 27 grams of fat for pork/beef kielbasa. And honestly it taste just as good. I also cut the butter in half. Cooked, covered and set aside the pierogies. When the cabbage/sausage was done I served it over the pierogies which was way better for us that way the peirogies didn't fall apart and weren't soggy. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was fast, easy, and delicious! Definitely saving this for the future, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States