Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2001
My mom used to make this growing up, but with leftover chili. It was chili one night and cabbage patch stew the next...but we started just making the stew because we liked it BETTER than chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
WOW, from the first time I tried this have gotten rave reviews from Family and Friends. Was so impressed after making first time, shared it with everyone I know! Have improvised with it a little at times, adding a little more Cabbage, as we love Cabbage, little more Salsa and garlic, also increased Celery to 3 or 4 stalks at times. Some recipes aren't open to improvising, but feel free with this one to add extra or something new of what your Family likes. Very "user friendly" recipe or great just like it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
We loved this! I used kidney beans instead of ranch-style beans which made this a lot like cabbage chili. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I thought this was excellent! I added a little bit more picante sauce and a diced jalepeno pepper for a little bit more zest! Put some cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This is a hearty "stick to your ribs" dish. I use salsa instead of picante sauce, and vary the type of salsa to the taste of the people eating it. I also recommend Ancho Chiles instead of green bell pepper if you like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
I liked this a lot. It was my first Allrecipe recipe and I liked it so much I kept searching for more recipes. :) I'll definitely make it again, probably adding more cabbage to thicken it up a bit. It's yummy with cornbread muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Smelled so good I barely made it through the cooking time. I cheated and had a bowl half-way through when the cabbage and bell pepper was still crunchy. =) Mmm serve it with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Very Good, and my husband thought so too! I added extra picante sauce, and then about an hour before it was done, stirred in one can of regular corn and served over brown rice. I used the extra cabbage to make cole slaw. I found that with the hotter cooking temperatures of the newer crockpots, 5 hours on "Low" was more than sufficient cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Very good and very easy to make. Tastes just like chili! The kids loved it and didn't even notice the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This recipe is easy to prepare and very delicious. My husband-who hate cabbage-raves about this dish. I served it over rice. We've added this to our list of comfort foods. Will definitely make again and again!! Thanks for sharing Betsy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States