Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I thought this was pretty good! I cooked a couple of tablespoons of minced garlic with the beef and onion and then seasoned the meat with Creole Seasoning. I left out the celery and green pepper (because I don't like them) and added a can of corn. I also doubled the cabbage and it definitely looks like I'll get more than four servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was great...I made it exact except for adding a large can of crushed tomotoes and a lot more cabbage because I love it. I made it on the stove top and let it simmer away. Good healthy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My family enjoyed this. It was great on a very cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I make this with vegetarian crumbles instead of ground beef, and I love it. One of our new staples for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
OMG I can't believe I found this recipe here! This was a favorite that my grandmother used to make for us whenever we came to visit. She always topped it off with Bisquick dumplings when she made it, which was our favorite part for sopping up the sauce. I can't wait to make this for my son one day soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
We don't eat meat, so I substitute soy crumble or tofu in this recipe. I also add tomato sauce. This recipe is great because you can add additional veggies if you like and the end result is wonderful. It also freezes well. If the slow cooker time is just too long, this recipes can easily be made in a soup pot on the stove in about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this today. I used diced tomatoes rather than stewed for dietary reasons and added two cans instead of one. I also added a can of black beans and some roasted canned chiles. I used Salsa instead of Picante Sauce since all I found when I googled Picante sauce was salsa so I am guessing that they are the same thing? Anyhow, I used 3/4 of a cup instead of 1/4. I was also careful to use a high quality brand of salsa and the hot version. I am more of a medium person myself but the hot gave a nice medium kick to the stew when it was mixed with the other ingredients. I also added 1 1/2 tablespoons of fresh cilantro at the end. It came out very flavorful and delicious. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Great recipe. I've made this 4 times already, and take it to work all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby Tarsus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I always add more cabbage and also use Bush's chili beans (with sauce) instead of the Ranch-Style beans. They add more of the flavors I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was a good recipe. I replaced the ranch style beans with 1 15oz can of blk beans and 1 15oz can of pinto beans. I used mexican style stewed tomatoes & added 1 T of chili powder. My husband and his friends loved it. I placed it in the crockpot and forgot about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States