Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Very good! I followed the recipe exactly. Next time, I will add more cabbage because it kind of gets lost in the mix. I don't think it would hurt to add more. This is also a great soup to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Owens

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
My Mom used to make this and always added a can of chili to give it a little more body and taste. I added the can of chili but left out the bell pepper (I just don't care for the taste of it). Instead of ranch beans I used seasoned chili beans and instead of picante I used my favorite medium salsa. That's what's great about this recipe. Anything goes! Like Mom I serve this over a square of cornbread but I also top it off with a dollop of sour cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My family and I didn't like this at all. It was very bland. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Excellent! I used left over, cut up beef roast and left over taco seasoned hamburger. Also added some chopped carrots and substituted 2 cans beef broth instead of water. I also added a McCormick beef stew flavor packet and a couple healthy shakes chili powder. I gave 4 stars because I made changes and substitutions. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Bandera, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
LOVED IT!! My husband, who can be stingy with compliments raved about it. So much that some of his co-workers have paid me to make it for them a couple of times. I did make a couple of changes...not much. I did use Rotel instead of Picante, as per other reviews and I used stew meat once and also meaty beef neck bones another time to make this a crock pot recipe. A dash or so more cumin, per our liking, and it is a fantastic easy meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I loved this recipe! What a great way to use up the cabbage. My mom and son loved it, too. I am going to try making it with ground venison, too. I'll let you know how it comes out. Came out great! Yum with ground venison! Also, I cooked some brown rice and mixed it with some of the cabbage patch stew and stuffed some peppers with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
For not liking Cabbage a whole lot, this is a very tasty dish. It just kept getting better day by day. I made this in my crock pot and let it cook on low for 9 or 10 hours before eating. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Yummy ! Followed the recipe but added a small can of V-8 Hot. I cooked on top of stove for approx. 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dobelady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Wonderful! This was so easy and the whole family enjoyed it--even my picky toddler! I made according to recipe except I used light red kidney beans instead of the ranch-style beans and served it over rice! So good! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I thought this was a great idea to use cabbage so that it wouldn't be as noticed by the kids. Came out very much like a chili with cabbage in it, but my chili kid ate it up. Overall, I found the flavors to be a little bland. I would definitely make this again, but would add some chili powder and more cumin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States