Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
It was good, but not impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was really good. I left out the celery and picante sauce (served it with hot sauce). It only takes six hours on low. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Made this today for dinner and it was D-lish! Used ground buffalo instead of beef (much leaner), fresh tomatoes instead of stewed (on-hand). and canned black beans (on-hand). A good hearty winter stew ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
My husband just made this for our supper. He said that it was easy to make and we love it. This is a keeper for us.Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westcliffe, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was fully expecting my family to not like this (I wasn't even sure I would after smelling the cabbage throughout my house as it cooked) but much to my surprise, the stew was enjoyed by all but our youngest who I think was just in a cranky mood. I made mine with medium chunky salsa, kidney beans and without celery since I didn't have any on hand. My husband asked for seconds for maybe only the second time since I've started cooking in earnest. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thank you for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
YUM! Used meatloaf mix as that was on hand and replaced the water with beef broth followed the rest of the ingredients on the recipe. I served it with Yukon Gold Mashed and it was awesome. Real comfort food. I browned the meat and onions, added the rest of the ingredients and cooked it in a tight lidded cast iron dutch oven for about 4 hours at 325 degrees. Flavors were melded well and the cabbage was very wilted but still flavorful. This would work for any family night dinner. COMFORT FOOD at it's best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
If you don't crock this recipe, the preparation and cooking time is about 40 minutes. I substituted soy-based Italian sausage for the ground beef. I also substituted about 8 ounces of mushrooms for the celery and a can of vegetarian broth for the water and stewed tomatoes liquid. I used about 5 fresh round tomatoes rather than stewed. The recipe came out quite well. My changes made this recipe into a vegetarian version. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Delicious. No need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry Haas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
We loved this! Next time I'll put more cabbage in it, since my family likes cabbage. My husband recommended I add some sort of pasta to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was excellent stew/soup (we like more broth so I added more liquid). I started off with a big batch of leftover Pork Chalupa (recipe from this site) so that was my meat/bean base, then I added all the other veggies/seasonings. called for in this recipe. I didn't have time to slow cook it so I did it on the stove and it was very good! Thanks for a very good way of using up a leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States