Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is one of my family's favorites. Even my kids don't notice the cabbage, because it's well cooked within the stew. Flavor is great. I make this a lot in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Cabbage Patch Stew Haiku: "Wow, this was awesome! This recipe surprised me. Easy and tasty!" Followed the recipe exactly as written, although my stewed tomatoes turned out to be a "Mexican-seasoned" type, which probably added an additional flavor bump. Ranch style beans are a must as well. i thought the cabbage would disappear to mush after being the crockpot that long, but it was great, and frankly, we thought it a yummy, healthy alternative to having pasta in a soup/stew. Looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I do not like cabbage at all but wanted to try something new....wow was I surprised! Loved it and so did everybody else!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I'm giving this one 5 stars. Hubby and I really liked it a lot. I did use diced tomatoes w/chilies because that's what I had. It was nicely spicy and really great for lunch the following day. I think next time I might put a little more cabbage in it though. Excellent and sure to be a favorite again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scharf Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Great recipe! Perfect to throw in the slow cooker and come home to a cooked meal. Beans were a little different in this recipe, but they add more protein. Not sure I'll include them next time. I cooked it on high for 3 1/2 hours and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Fantastic! To reduce calories I use 99% lean ground turkey. For extra flavor, I use Rotel tomatoes (which means I can skip the pepper and onion) vs. stewed, double the cumin and picante sauce, substitute fat free broth for water and add a can of chopped green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Pretty good. It felt like it was missing something, though. I would still make it again. It may be one of those soups that tastes better after it sits a while. I used a bag of cole slaw cabbage mix and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My husband LOVES this! I used lean ground turkey instead of ground beef just to be a little healthier. But it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Almost 5 stars, but it lacks flavor. It needs some more spice, maybe onion or garlic powder. I did use a bold and spicy baked bean and it worked perfect. This is a GREAT way to use up some cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Awesome stew. I LOVE cabbage. I used a whole head of cabbage and also tossed in a few russet potatoes and a can of beef broth and it turned out AMAZING! Very hearty and delicious. After finishing the first batch off I went out and bought ingredients for the next batch which I am currently cooking! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States