Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I make this dish quite often, however I use light & dark kidney beans instead and I add sliced carrots, use diced tomatoes, beef bouillon cubes and add little "stars" noodles in mine. My kids seems to like the little noodles in it, so they don't mind eating all the vegtables since they are thinking about the cute lil noodles! I also add vegtable juice. Plus just half the green pepper, so it doesn't overpower the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
We love this dish! I used ground turkey in place of the beef and my family never knew the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Jane B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
It's in my recipe box! I only keep the ones I know I will fix again. What a great warmer upper on these cool Chicago evenings. Help me with one thing tho. What is the closest bean to "ranch style"? I've looked everywhere but no luck in my area. What would you suggest I substitute?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I made this stew last night and it was just ok. There was nothing particularly good or bad about it. We had to heavily salt it to eat it though because it did seem quite bland. It smelled great, so we assumed it would be really flavorful, but it wasn't. I would make again if I had all ingredients on hand, but nothing I'd rush out to buy up so we could have again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I cooked mine in the crock pot while I was at work, so it cooked for 9 hours which was a little too long, my cabbage basically disappeared. We still enjoyed it but next time will make when it won't have to cook as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Sooooo good! Cabbage came out sweet! I did it on the stovetop because I don't have a crockpot, used diced tomatoes with chilis and mixed it with rice. Was very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
We love this recipe. Have made it numerous times since finding it last year. It always turns out well even with substitutions. Great way to use up cabbage. I like this recipe so much better than a regular beef soup as it has a lot of flavor. We've also substituted sausage for the beef and that was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Very good! I will be making this again. We loved the cabbage and will be doubling it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Before I altered this recipe, it was bland, and tasteless. I added jalapenos, another can of beans, more picante, and lots of different spices to make this have any flavor to it. In the end with sharp cheddar on top it was good. I won't be making this again, even when tweaked, it wasn't an outstanding favorite. If you like food that is very mild, bland, and unflavorful this would be a good choice. I don't mean that in a bad way, people have different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States