Cabbage Patch Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My husband loves this stew. I made it for the first time tonight and I like it but wasn't sure I'd make it again until he gave it rave reviews. I did this on high in the slow cooker for about 90 minutes. I tasted it several times as it was cooking and added another 1/4 cup of hot picante sauce and a beef bouillon cube. Instead of water I used some chicken stock because it was already opened in the frig. Still, I wanted a bit more zip to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Sorry, but I tried this recipe exactly as written, with all the ingredients and no changes. Horribly disappointed... was craving a nice hearty cabbage dish, but this was totally and completely bland and flavorless. Took a ton of doctoring up to make it edible. I found a recipe for cabbage rolls which gave me the necessary ingredients to help bring this up to something I could salvage. Don't recommend as written, and I hate giving one-star reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I like to make a bisquick dumpling with cheese to cook on top for the last 20 minutes. (how my Mom made it when I was growing up) 10 minutes covered after dropping dumplings and 10 minutes with out cover. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherida6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osage City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Tried it loved it, easy, healthy, and tasty. Hubby gave it a big thumbs up. Putting this one on the Yes, do repeat list. Made ours with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Even my two picky teenagers loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
All 5 of my children loved this stew. It was super easy to make. I made it exactly as written except I didn't use celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
The first time I made this, it was without meat, my husband actually liked it and requested it again but with me. So I've made this recipe about 5 times now and my husband loves it. My changes: No water, 2 cans of tomatoes with liquid (one diced), I soak my own red beans instead of ranch style (it doesnt make a difference), and I use ground turkey for a leaner meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is good, made as directed with a heavy hand measuring the picante as well as cumin. Tasted like Mexican cabbage soup, which was good, just not anything we went too crazy for. Good way to use cabbage up, simple ingredients, would make again for the above mentioned reasons but not likely something we will have a craving for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is one of my family's favorites. Even my kids don't notice the cabbage, because it's well cooked within the stew. Flavor is great. I make this a lot in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States