Cabbage Patch Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
Hearty and delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
Yummy! The house smelled so good while it was cooking we could hardly wait the 20 minutes it took to simmer. We added a cup of chopped, cooked chicken and along with garlic bread it made a quick, hearty and delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Excellent taste. Very full flavoured on the pallet. I will make a large batch next time to share as I ate 2/3rds of it the first nite. Highly recommended...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was very yummy! I made a few changes: used 3 oz. bacon bits, low sodium broth and doubled the cabbage. I will omit the peas next time, their flavor stood out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
This was a great soup.My kind of soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I have made many recipes from this site and have been generally very pleased, but find myself not rating the recipe, for one reason or another. However, I found myself compelled to rate this one! I made no changes other than to add some smoked sausage links. My husband and I were amazed at how wonderful this was!!! And, in the middle of August in California. You'd expect this to be a winter soup, but it was wonderful at lunch time, (along with a smoked sausage sandwich). I made enough to freeze but did not add the peas or sour cream at freezing (will do so when reheating, think that is part of the secret). Anyway, couldn't be more impressed for such a simple recipe. We had an extremely fresh head of cabbage, think that is partially what made it so good. Make sure you make this one!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Add real bacon (Not bacon bits) Add hillshire farm sausage Add can peas (drain)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was quick, easy and good! With no time to shop, I made several substitutions. I used fat free plain yogurt since I didn't have sour cream on hand and some mixed frozen vegetables instead of fresh carrots and frozen peas. I dissolved 6 chicken bouillon cubes in 5 cups of hot water instead of canned broth and doubled the cabbage and onion. I was surprised by the great flavor for such a quick soup. My kids seemed to enjoy it too! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
My boyfriend usually cannot stand cabbage, but he loved it in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELLE04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe made one delicious pot of soup! I made a few minor modifications; I used 2 pieces of cooked turkey bacon, cut into strips, instead of the bacon bits, I added 3 cloves of chopped garlic after the onion was cooked, and added a few shakes of Italian mixed herbs toward the end. To avoid the problem others had with the sour cream separating, I first removed the soup from the heat, then added the peas (unthawed). The heat from the soup is sufficient to cook the peas at this point, then in turn the soup is cooled down enough to safely add the sour cream, while still being nice and hot for eating. Thanks so much for the great recipe, and I look forward to making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States