Cabbage Patch Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made this with a couple of additions. I threw in some chopped ham and mushrooms and it was awesome. My husband had some and couldn't believe he liked something that had cabbage in it. Definitely a keeper. Worth trying..thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I had left over cabbage from another recipe. My husband and I were nervous to try the recipe but this was delicious. Add homemade wheat bread for those of us who like to dunk into our soup and this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe is easy and good! I think some smoked ham would be awesome in this but its great as is! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I have made this recipe several times, but with one change. We use hamburger or ground turkey instead of the bacon bits. My whole family loves this soup, even my picky five and six year olds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I was looking for a way to make something of the random leftover ingredients I had around, and this definitely turned out to be a great choice. I made a couple changes: I used vegetable broth, omitted the peas, made my bacon bits fresh then used the bacon grease in place of the olive oil, and substituted Greek yogurt for sour cream. Otherwise I followed the recipe and my boyfriend and I both loved it. Not only did it taste great, but it was a fantastic hangover cure as well! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was really good. I subbed chopped smoked sausage for the bacon and added a bit more than was called for (about 1/2 cup). I also added only 1/2 teaspoon of salt rather than 1 teaspoon as called for. I will definitely make this again with these same changes. I also think I will try adding some diced potatoes in next time too. My husband even raved about it and he doesn't usually like cooked cabbage. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Yum. I used Pancetta instead of bacon and added celery but no peas. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was okay. I used about six strips of turkey bacon, one ginormous onion, organic broth, organic shredded carrots, omitted the salt, peas and sour cream. Instead of sour cream, I used 1/4 cup of fat free half-n-half. This needs more spice, I just can't pinpoint what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very Good Flavor! I thought this had wonderful flavor. I omitted the flour because I avoid it and so the soup was a little bit more brothy. Economical too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this soup. I followed the recipe as written except I added a smoked turkey wing instead of bacon. This is a very good flavorful soup. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States