Cabbage Patch Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Wow, I thought I would have to spice this up more, but it was already good (I did add a little more pepper and some kielbasa sausage along with the bacon bits) and my husband who doesn't like soup said it was pretty good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I give this recipe 4 stars as is but it has 5 star potential. I used homemade chicken stock instead of canned broth and 3 strips real bacon instead of bacon bits. I then sauteed the vegetables in a bit of bacon fat to really sear in that flavor. This is by far one of the bests batches of soup I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I made this recipe as stated except for the peas (didn't have and kids don't like). For a cabbage recipe it was a nice change to add sour cream. I love cabbage and am always looking for ways to enhance its flavor. I did add some crushed red pepper flakes and some sliced kiebasa that I had left over from the night before. Added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This soup was ok. I'd make it again if I had leftover cabbage but I would not plan this as a meal otherwise. I used an Organic chicken broth and it was very bland so I had to add a ton of salt and pepper, this could be one reason I wasn't thrilled with it. Also the cabbage came out a bit too crunchy for my taste. I think I'll cook it longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was very yummy! I made a few changes: used 3 oz. bacon bits, low sodium broth and doubled the cabbage. I will omit the peas next time, their flavor stood out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was quick, easy and good! With no time to shop, I made several substitutions. I used fat free plain yogurt since I didn't have sour cream on hand and some mixed frozen vegetables instead of fresh carrots and frozen peas. I dissolved 6 chicken bouillon cubes in 5 cups of hot water instead of canned broth and doubled the cabbage and onion. I was surprised by the great flavor for such a quick soup. My kids seemed to enjoy it too! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I have made many recipes from this site and have been generally very pleased, but find myself not rating the recipe, for one reason or another. However, I found myself compelled to rate this one! I made no changes other than to add some smoked sausage links. My husband and I were amazed at how wonderful this was!!! And, in the middle of August in California. You'd expect this to be a winter soup, but it was wonderful at lunch time, (along with a smoked sausage sandwich). I made enough to freeze but did not add the peas or sour cream at freezing (will do so when reheating, think that is part of the secret). Anyway, couldn't be more impressed for such a simple recipe. We had an extremely fresh head of cabbage, think that is partially what made it so good. Make sure you make this one!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe made one delicious pot of soup! I made a few minor modifications; I used 2 pieces of cooked turkey bacon, cut into strips, instead of the bacon bits, I added 3 cloves of chopped garlic after the onion was cooked, and added a few shakes of Italian mixed herbs toward the end. To avoid the problem others had with the sour cream separating, I first removed the soup from the heat, then added the peas (unthawed). The heat from the soup is sufficient to cook the peas at this point, then in turn the soup is cooled down enough to safely add the sour cream, while still being nice and hot for eating. Thanks so much for the great recipe, and I look forward to making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was a good soup that was easy to make. My family loved it. Next time I am going to use a little bacon grease instead of the olive oil to really give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This soup was very, very tastey. I added a lot of rice (I had some cooked leftover in the fridge that needed to be used). And instead of peas, a can of mixed veggies. I also added extra water to make up for the rice. Soooo yummy! Will for surely make again! Thank you Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States