Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
I love it. It was a great cooking experience. If you like to cook this is the one for you. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
I decided to try this because Susan said her son liked it. I was looking for a homey, comfort recipe that included cabbage, and... wahla! I knew from the start there would not be enough water for 1 cup of rice, however I tried the recipe as written and wound up adding a can of broth and at least 2 cups more water! I also did not want all the meat listed so I used only 1 lb of ground turkey and seasoned it highly with cajun spice and garlic pepper. Not appealing visually, but this tastes REALLY GOOD witha touch of hot sauce added. Have french bread on the side. I would recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
You need to add more water than given in the recipe. I added some hot salsa to spice it up a bit. I agree with other reviewer who felt it wasn't very eye appealing but it is very tasty. Barb G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I needed to use my largest pot for this recipe. I also added a cup of broth as it needed more liquid I felt. It seemed bland so I added herbs and spices to give it a more Creole taste. The recipe makes a very large amount and I should have halved it as I don't like leftover cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
Great recipe!! It's not a company meal but made a great supper for the two of us. It freezes well and we had enough for three meals. My kind of cooking. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
My Wife and I really like this dish. The cabbage adds a new twist to "jambalaya". I agree with everyone else on the liquid content. I omitted the water and used three cans of broth, plus a few extra cloves of garlic. Mmmm!! I will certainly make this dish again. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
To anyone who has reservations about trying this recipe: If you like spicy, esp. jambalaya, or rice based recipes - this is truly a great way to combine the beloved with something as mundane as cabbage, voila! This is the umpteenth time I've made this...I was one of the first to review it in '04. Like other reviewers, I've modified this recipe to give it some umph! I use rotel, hot sm. sausage, Creole or Old Bay seasonings...I even throw in a can of black-eyed peas. Cornbread and Iced Tea to boot! Gotta Love it! Yeah, I'm a Texas Girl...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Family of 6 loved it!! Yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Very very good! It was easy to make(i cut my finger cutting the cabbage though :( ). I added some cayenne and a red pepper to give it more appeal. Instead of the canned tomatoes, I added two real tomatoes and a little can of tomatoe sauce. I also omitted the celery. Everyone liked it alot, and all took seconds. Definately a recipe to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
My fiance was a little skeptical when I told him what I was cooking (he explained what REAL Jambalaya was). Well, when it was done he didn't have much to say because he was too busy stuffing his mouth! I loved it, my kids loved it. A terrific,hearty meal. Will serve again and again. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States