Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This recipe is phenomenal! Not to mention extremely easy to make. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great. I was worried about the flavor since it included ground beef, but everyone, including my 5 year old loved it! This dish allows for plenty of leftovers (have a family of 4). For those who like a bit of spice, a couple of drops of Tabasco will do the trick for individual dishes! My husband did this since the rest of us don't like extremely spicy food. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Everyone in my family liked it and with 4 children, that is quite an accomplishment! The only tweaking I did was to chop the stewed tomatoes with a hand blender, use chicken broth instead of water and sprinkle with a little Tony Cha(sp?) -- uhhh cajun seasoning. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
My guests and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is a very adaptable meal I found it to be a bit bland but you can add what ever you like to it. What a great way to use cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I was all set to make cabbage rolls and then I came across this recipe, this resulted in not having some of the ingredients. It was still wonderful though. Here's what I did: I used 1lb. lean gound beef and 3 turkey sausages. I cooked them as per the recipe with the onion and fresh garlic. (I used 4 small cloves) While that was cooking, I had my instant rice cooking in another pan. When I added the cabbage, I also added the rice, 2 cans of Campbell's tomoto soup (I didn't have canned tomatoes), 1 can of water, S&P, and 2 tsp of smokey flovored hot sauce. I then simmered for about 15 minutes and served. I enjoyed it and my husband gave it 5 stars and said he was glad we didn't have the celery. (He thought it would taste weird) This is a great base recipe, I was just confused when it was called Jambalaya but didn't have anything spicy in it. So tweak it to your liking and enjoy! Side Note - I had what I would call a small head of cabbage and I only used 3/4 of it. I thought that was PLENTY. (See photos)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I'm not sure what happened but this did not have a traditional "jambalaya" consistency. And how can a jambalaya recipe not call for cajun seasoning? I added it of course, but the overall dish came out a little mushy. The taste was like a cabbage roll, just without all the work of rolling each cabbage leave which is why I gave it a 3 and not two because I happen to like cabbage rolls. Unfortunately I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This will be a good winter meal here in North Dakota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Used turkey sausage, brown rice, and ground turkey in place of ground beef, seasoned with some creole seasoning. We had red cabbage. Kids (9&11) gave it 4 and 5 stars. Easy meal...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Nice Dish thumbs UP! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was SO GOOD!!! I gave it 4 stars because I did modify it but it's definitely going to be made again. Hubby LOVED it and asked that I keep the recipe and make it again. My modifications/additions: 3 cloves garlic, added 1 can Rotel tomatoes to the recipe, 1 can El Pato spicy tomato sauce (use 1/2 can for less spicy or regular tomato sauce instead), instead of water I used 1 can beef broth plus 1 cup of beef broth (cuz rice soaked broth up before it was done cooking so had to add more), 1/2 tsp. garlic salt, 1/4 tsp. Old Bay seasoning, pinch of red pepper flakes, dash of worcestershire sauce, and a dash of salt. Loved by all in the family and that right there is worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOCOOKS2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States