Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I think this was an excellent and quick recipe! I did season to our taste with Season-All and a little Splenda. Otherwise, I did everything as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Great Recipe! I fixed it for a work pot luck and it was gone in no time! Next time I will add black beans, more garlic and celery (just did not have at the time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This recipe came up as I searched using ingredients I had to use up. It looked good, but I really think it needed more flavors for my tastes so I added a bunch of stuff. I added black-eyed peas, used beef broth instead of water. Added green pepper, oregano, thyme, bay leaves, red pepper flakes (then Tabasco at the end!). The rice I used was Bhutanesca red and the tomatoes where a can of fire-roasted. The cabbage was red. I'd give the recipe with my changes 4 stars. Interesting and novel recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
A great recipe that is easy to make. I reduced the suggested amount of water and added a can of tomato sauce that was seasoned with basil, garlic and oregano. Add a splash of Louisiana hot sauce and you will have yourself a great meal. Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Awesome! So good! We loved it! Huge hit at our house. I did brown the ground beef seperately so I could drain it. And I cooked the rice in my rice cooker but everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Surprisingly good! I used a can of diced tomatoes and about 2 cups tomato sauce instead of the stewed tomatoes and added 2.5 t. of creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Recipe was good, but I thought it would need more and agreed with other reviews that it's not Jambalaya without any Creole or Cajun seasoning. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used 1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes, which also had roasted garlic in it. Since I did not have any ground beef, I used ground turkey. I am not sure how much creole seasoning I used, but I evenly sprinkled it over the meat, onion, and celery. I did the same over the diced tomatoes, cabbage, and rice. I used 1 c. white rice and 1.5 cups water. Personally, I thought this dish looked more like it was going to be soupy. I removed it from the heat after 25 min, uncovered the pot and let it stand about 5-10 minutes. The liquid absorbed, but it still seemed mushy to me. Next time I will cook the rice separate and add it to the pot towards the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Good when fresh, but doesn't reheat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
On of my favorite recipes that I have found on this site. Delicious! I made it to recipe with ground turkey/turkey sausage the first time, now I like to add 2 teaspoons of cajun seasoning to it and instead of celery I put in one green and one red bell pepper. I also like to use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. It is a great recipe the way it's listed, I just changed things to cater more to a flavor I enjoy more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This recipe is phenomenal! Not to mention extremely easy to make. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great. I was worried about the flavor since it included ground beef, but everyone, including my 5 year old loved it! This dish allows for plenty of leftovers (have a family of 4). For those who like a bit of spice, a couple of drops of Tabasco will do the trick for individual dishes! My husband did this since the rest of us don't like extremely spicy food. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States