Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Recipe was good, but I thought it would need more and agreed with other reviews that it's not Jambalaya without any Creole or Cajun seasoning. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used 1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes, which also had roasted garlic in it. Since I did not have any ground beef, I used ground turkey. I am not sure how much creole seasoning I used, but I evenly sprinkled it over the meat, onion, and celery. I did the same over the diced tomatoes, cabbage, and rice. I used 1 c. white rice and 1.5 cups water. Personally, I thought this dish looked more like it was going to be soupy. I removed it from the heat after 25 min, uncovered the pot and let it stand about 5-10 minutes. The liquid absorbed, but it still seemed mushy to me. Next time I will cook the rice separate and add it to the pot towards the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Good when fresh, but doesn't reheat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
On of my favorite recipes that I have found on this site. Delicious! I made it to recipe with ground turkey/turkey sausage the first time, now I like to add 2 teaspoons of cajun seasoning to it and instead of celery I put in one green and one red bell pepper. I also like to use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. It is a great recipe the way it's listed, I just changed things to cater more to a flavor I enjoy more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This recipe is phenomenal! Not to mention extremely easy to make. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great. I was worried about the flavor since it included ground beef, but everyone, including my 5 year old loved it! This dish allows for plenty of leftovers (have a family of 4). For those who like a bit of spice, a couple of drops of Tabasco will do the trick for individual dishes! My husband did this since the rest of us don't like extremely spicy food. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Everyone in my family liked it and with 4 children, that is quite an accomplishment! The only tweaking I did was to chop the stewed tomatoes with a hand blender, use chicken broth instead of water and sprinkle with a little Tony Cha(sp?) -- uhhh cajun seasoning. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
My guests and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is a very adaptable meal I found it to be a bit bland but you can add what ever you like to it. What a great way to use cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I was all set to make cabbage rolls and then I came across this recipe, this resulted in not having some of the ingredients. It was still wonderful though. Here's what I did: I used 1lb. lean gound beef and 3 turkey sausages. I cooked them as per the recipe with the onion and fresh garlic. (I used 4 small cloves) While that was cooking, I had my instant rice cooking in another pan. When I added the cabbage, I also added the rice, 2 cans of Campbell's tomoto soup (I didn't have canned tomatoes), 1 can of water, S&P, and 2 tsp of smokey flovored hot sauce. I then simmered for about 15 minutes and served. I enjoyed it and my husband gave it 5 stars and said he was glad we didn't have the celery. (He thought it would taste weird) This is a great base recipe, I was just confused when it was called Jambalaya but didn't have anything spicy in it. So tweak it to your liking and enjoy! Side Note - I had what I would call a small head of cabbage and I only used 3/4 of it. I thought that was PLENTY. (See photos)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I'm not sure what happened but this did not have a traditional "jambalaya" consistency. And how can a jambalaya recipe not call for cajun seasoning? I added it of course, but the overall dish came out a little mushy. The taste was like a cabbage roll, just without all the work of rolling each cabbage leave which is why I gave it a 3 and not two because I happen to like cabbage rolls. Unfortunately I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This will be a good winter meal here in North Dakota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States