Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I can't give it 5 stars because I made too many changes, but it is a good starter recipe. Based on other reviews, I used only a 1/2 pound each of the ground beef and sausage (which I subbed with vegetarian versions). I also added almost double the water it called for, and a half portion of the Cajun Spice Mix recipe from this site (by Bobbie Jean). Those changes made my wife say that it was the BEST cabbage dish she had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATISSO8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
A complete disaster!!! I followed the instructions and it did not come out right...sorry...next time I will just cook the rice separate and put the cabbage over rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was fantastic. My 2 1/2 and 4 year old picky eaters actually ate their entire bowls. I made a few changes though based mostly on other reviewers... I substituted 2 cups of beef broth for the water. I added an entire can of tomato sauce, I used a red onion instead of a regular onion, I added a chopped green pepper. Since I added more liquid, I also put in 1 1/2 cups of rice instead of just the one. Extra seasonings included oregano, emeril essence, garlic salt, pepper... I added cayenne pepper after I took out the kids' portions! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Not my favorite thing I think it is a bit too oily/greasy. So if I was to make it again i would drain the fat or I would get a less fattier meat like ground turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Yum! I used ground turkey, and chicken andouille sausage. I added some Cajun seasoning and bay leaf. They didn't have stewed tomatoes at Trader Joe's, so I just used a can of diced tomatoes instead. I also used brown rice instead of white. After i added the cabbage, I couldn't really stir the pot. The only thing I'd change next time is to add the cabbage later since I like my veggies slightly crispy. I'd also consider doing a half recipe since I don't have a very large stock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This dish would be so much better without the smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
The whole family loved this! I didn't put the rice in, so I didn't add the extra liquid (low carb diet for a while). I know that the rice would have put this over the top! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
it was good, i ended up having to use 2 pots to cook it because i couldnt stir and it got a bit soggy but im glad i tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
LOVED this! I am a big fan of cabbage and this was superb. Left out the beef and just used turkey sausage, cooked in crockpot for 8 hours on low. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by billiesuelou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is a pretty heavy dish. So much meat & very thick. It was a bit much for us. Maybe for a large amount of people it would be ok. I love cabbage, but there was so much meat, just the sausage would've been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States