Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Very easy to prepare and quite tasty. I used beef broth instead of plain water, smoked turkey sausage, threw in 4 cloves of garlic and 3/4 tsp salt instead of the garlic salt. Great recipe to get my kids to eat cabbage. There was plenty of leftovers since it makes a huge pot of it. I'm sure they'll be gone by the next time around though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Instructions were easy enough to follow, and it's easy to make, but I did not care for it at all.It makes quite a potful, so you must be sure to stir often, or it will get stuck to the bottom and burn a bit. I found the taste / combo of sausage and ground beef odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very good, especially with some additions suggested from others plus my own: Less meat. Add green pepper, more garlic, dried basil, dried oregano, broth in place of water & Creole seasoning in place of garlic salt. My sausage was smoked sausage from So. LA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Actually a really good recipe. I was a little leary...not being very fond of cabbage. But I found this recipe after searching for specific ingredients. I had on-hand cabbage, sausage, rice, and stewed tomatoes and looked for a recipe that would utilize all of these. Even after it was cooked, it didn't look wonderful since the purple from the cabbage seeped into the mixture. But the flavor was very good. I do like jambalaya, and the cabbage makes an interesting and healthier variation.j Pleasantly surprised! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great recipe. Very hearty and surprisingly flavorful. I didn't add the sausage or ground beef because I didn't have any and needed to use my cabbage. It definitely would have been significantly better with at least one kind of meat (or fake meat for the vegetarians), so I would definitely make sure to add that. It was 4 stars without the meat, so I give it 5 because I know that's what it would be with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I adjusted the ingredients to make four servings. Used homemade beef stock instead of water as some reviewers suggested. This was delicious!! There were no leftovers. Thanks, Susan for posting something different for us to try; which turned out to be a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Cabbage Jambalaya Haiku: "This was pretty great! Cut the recipe in half, it still made a ton!" I prepared my rice separated and mixed it in b4 serving, b/c rice is either too squishy or too crunch when I do it the way the recipe directed. Also drained the ground beef and sausage b4 mixing the other stuff in b/c Yikes! That was alot of grease and wouldn't have appealed to us at all. Threw in 1 tsp of AR's Creole Seasoning, and this was deliciscrumtastious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Can't say enough just AWESOME! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA
Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This recipe was amazing! I made it pretty much as written and just added a kick with a secret homemade hot sauce. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I did NOT like this.. I'm usually a big fan of cabbage but I thought the flavors together just were not good. I followed the recipe pretty exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States