Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was a hit with the whole family. Like others suggested I used broth instead of water and also used an 8oz of preshredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe because I had a head of cabbage I needed to use before it turned & I'm glad I did. This is pretty darn good! I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This was an unexpected success! Even my cabbage haters loved it and asked if they could have it again the next day, and my crew isn't keen on leftovers. I made 2 changes. 1. sauteed the cabbage in a T of bacon drippings. Added the crumbled bacon (5 strips) to the jambalaya. 2) I chopped carrots and added those, because I didn't have celery. Otherwise I followed the recipe. It was fantastic and inexpensive. A new family favorite. Very satisfying on a rainy fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
We loved this easy recipe, although we did change the ingredients to suit what we had on hand. All of the basics were the same, but instead of ground beef, we had chicken-apple sausage and some steamed shrimp that were seasoned with Old Bay Seasoning. The Old Bay was a nice touch! We will definitely enjoy the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I thought this was very tasty, however, I had to make some adjustments and it was mushy by the time it had finished cooking(I'll cook rice separate and then add at end next time). The adjs. I made were: put 2 cans of tomatoes in, left out the ground beef,only used the sausage, doubled the liquid due to rice needing it(I used broth) and lastly I added a couple of tsp. of cajun seasoning(to put some heat in). Even though I gave it a 3(had to because of all the changes) my daughter(22) said it was a 4 (she didn't see all the adj. but loved it). It makes A LOT of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I really liked this recipe! I used ground turkey and turkey sausage to make it a bit lower calorie. And I used a second can of tomatoes as one just didn't seem like enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Very easy to prepare and quite tasty. I used beef broth instead of plain water, smoked turkey sausage, threw in 4 cloves of garlic and 3/4 tsp salt instead of the garlic salt. Great recipe to get my kids to eat cabbage. There was plenty of leftovers since it makes a huge pot of it. I'm sure they'll be gone by the next time around though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Instructions were easy enough to follow, and it's easy to make, but I did not care for it at all.It makes quite a potful, so you must be sure to stir often, or it will get stuck to the bottom and burn a bit. I found the taste / combo of sausage and ground beef odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very good, especially with some additions suggested from others plus my own: Less meat. Add green pepper, more garlic, dried basil, dried oregano, broth in place of water & Creole seasoning in place of garlic salt. My sausage was smoked sausage from So. LA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Actually a really good recipe. I was a little leary...not being very fond of cabbage. But I found this recipe after searching for specific ingredients. I had on-hand cabbage, sausage, rice, and stewed tomatoes and looked for a recipe that would utilize all of these. Even after it was cooked, it didn't look wonderful since the purple from the cabbage seeped into the mixture. But the flavor was very good. I do like jambalaya, and the cabbage makes an interesting and healthier variation.j Pleasantly surprised! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States