Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Mmmmm....good (after some adjustments). I found the cabbage ratio to be a bit high, even considering that I was using a 2lb package of burger, so I also added some extra rice and 2 extra cans of tomatoes with jalepanos. In addition, to combat the blandness of the dish and make it more in the traditional jambalaya flavor I added 2 fresh jalepanos, 1/2 tsp of red pepper, 1/2 tsp of old bay, and 4 extra garlic cloves. It also helped to substitute chicken broth for the water, and due to the extra rice I ended up using about 34 oz of broth. Even so, it was not runny at all...if anything could have used a little more liquid. With a bunch of garlic salt and a little black pepper, this was a dish that my bf LOVED (until I told him it was cabbage, anyway...whoops!) This has been added to my regular cooking reprotoire...thanks Susan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I browned meat first and drained fat. I didn't have tomatoes so I added about 3 cups of spaghetti sauce, more garlic,beef boullion with water and salt/pepper to taste.Delicious and simple alternative to cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
My 5 Nephews 2-10 LOVE IT and my Brother-in-law even asked for leftovers! I give it a 5! Be creative with the spices to liven it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HazelVallette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Carmel, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I made this tonight and it was quite tasty. I used beef broth instead of water and I used Onion and Garlic diced tomatoes. Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYLISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Dix, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
My family loved it.... The recipe goes good with homemade corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This recipe is one of my favorites. I like to add chicken instead of sausage. Hot peppers make it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I'm trying to figure out how this got so many good reviews. We did not like this at all. I used a good Andouille (cajun smoked sausage) and x-tra lean gound beef and it was still way too greasy and was just bluck!! Tried adding more spices, etc, but to no avail. Sorry, but will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I loved this! I used bulgur instead of rice. My boyfriend couldn't even tell. This is a fantastic cabbage recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I thought this recipe was okay. It wasn't exactly what I expected and I felt it needed a little more zing, but I like my food with a little spice in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I tried this recipe for the first time 2 weeks ago and it was a huge hit with my hubby and I. I have since passed the recipe on to several others, and everyone loves it. It reminds me of stuffed cabbage without the added work of rolling in cabbage leaves. I did however change the sausage to a mild italian and added basil to this recipe. My son and his family rate it awesome ! Thanks Susan for a new twist on sometimes boring cabbage !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States