Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 30, 2004
We thought this was a bit bland. I will try again adding more garlic, garlic pepper, green chili peppers, and a couple more seasonings that I like such as, Cavender's Greek Seasoning and Fiesta Fajita. These are great seasonings with a lot of flavor and very versatile for all meats, soups, chowders, beans, etc. I get them at Wal-Mart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
i tried this and this is a fave with my family, especially my mother who is cajun. she thinks it tastes great and has me cook it often. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mercedes0602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
add a little more spices for a better taste (hot chili pepper flakes );a little blend without that.but still good .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Mmmmm....good (after some adjustments). I found the cabbage ratio to be a bit high, even considering that I was using a 2lb package of burger, so I also added some extra rice and 2 extra cans of tomatoes with jalepanos. In addition, to combat the blandness of the dish and make it more in the traditional jambalaya flavor I added 2 fresh jalepanos, 1/2 tsp of red pepper, 1/2 tsp of old bay, and 4 extra garlic cloves. It also helped to substitute chicken broth for the water, and due to the extra rice I ended up using about 34 oz of broth. Even so, it was not runny at all...if anything could have used a little more liquid. With a bunch of garlic salt and a little black pepper, this was a dish that my bf LOVED (until I told him it was cabbage, anyway...whoops!) This has been added to my regular cooking reprotoire...thanks Susan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I browned meat first and drained fat. I didn't have tomatoes so I added about 3 cups of spaghetti sauce, more garlic,beef boullion with water and salt/pepper to taste.Delicious and simple alternative to cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
My 5 Nephews 2-10 LOVE IT and my Brother-in-law even asked for leftovers! I give it a 5! Be creative with the spices to liven it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HazelVallette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Carmel, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I made this tonight and it was quite tasty. I used beef broth instead of water and I used Onion and Garlic diced tomatoes. Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYLISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Dix, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
My family loved it.... The recipe goes good with homemade corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This recipe is one of my favorites. I like to add chicken instead of sausage. Hot peppers make it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I'm trying to figure out how this got so many good reviews. We did not like this at all. I used a good Andouille (cajun smoked sausage) and x-tra lean gound beef and it was still way too greasy and was just bluck!! Tried adding more spices, etc, but to no avail. Sorry, but will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States