Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
My family loves this. It has become a once a week meal for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Westlake, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
The steps in the recipe need to be more user friendly for amatuers. I.e. use oil, 2 tblspn to brown the veggies. How about how to add the spices, crushed or as is. Overall I give this recipe a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarence "CJ" Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This recipe is delicious. Based on other reviews, I used beef stock (approx 4 cups) instead of water. I used 2 cans of seasoned diced tomatoes. I added Old Bay and cajun seasoning to spice it up. I also added a small can of diced chili peppers as well as a half pkg of dried onion soup mix. Since others said the rice may get mushy, I cooked my brown rice separately. I used 1 cup of rice to 1 1/2 cup of water (instead of the usual 2 c water to 1 c rice) so that the rice would cook completely once added in the end. Delicious!! Update - I had not made this since I reviewed it in Oct 2006, but I made it again using Andouille sausage instead of smoked sausage. Gave it lots of flavor and was truly delicious! Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
My whole pot of jambalaya turned to mush in the time it took for the rice to cook! What a disappointment. I would recommend cooking the rice seperate, and then adding to the remaining ingredients. The flavor was wonderful, so I will try again with less cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I feel like I'm being generous giving this recipe three stars. I would not recommend this recipe to others. While it didn't taste _bad_, there was nothing appealing about this dish. In the time it took the rice to cook, the cabbage got way overcooked. It was bland -- a real disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Great cold weather meal. I add a little more garlic, 29 oz of stewed tomatoes and 1 chopped fresh jalepenos for bite. I also subsitute broth for water. Thank you Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This recipe reminded me of my mothers stuffed cabbage. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Thought this was great with a few modifications. I had the ground beef frozen so I had to add almost 2 lbs rather than what the recipe called for. Also added a couple of extra stalks of celery. Additionally I substituted 2 approx 15 oz cans of chicken broth and 1 can full of water. Also, I added about 6 cloves of garlic minced, red ground pepper, black coarsely ground pepper, garlic salt, and 3 bay leaves which I removed prior to serving. I substituted 1 can of Rotel and 1 can of diced stewed tomatoes (seasoned with basil, oregano and garlic). While it may seem overly modified I found it delicious and flavorful as did my DH and picky kiddos. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Yes, easy, but nothing special, despite my using beer instead of water and tomato sauce as one reviewer recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was a great dish. The only thing I changed was adding an extra can of tomatoes. I think you could easily eliminate the ground beef and go with all sausage if you like. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States