Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Great cold weather meal. I add a little more garlic, 29 oz of stewed tomatoes and 1 chopped fresh jalepenos for bite. I also subsitute broth for water. Thank you Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This recipe reminded me of my mothers stuffed cabbage. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Thought this was great with a few modifications. I had the ground beef frozen so I had to add almost 2 lbs rather than what the recipe called for. Also added a couple of extra stalks of celery. Additionally I substituted 2 approx 15 oz cans of chicken broth and 1 can full of water. Also, I added about 6 cloves of garlic minced, red ground pepper, black coarsely ground pepper, garlic salt, and 3 bay leaves which I removed prior to serving. I substituted 1 can of Rotel and 1 can of diced stewed tomatoes (seasoned with basil, oregano and garlic). While it may seem overly modified I found it delicious and flavorful as did my DH and picky kiddos. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Yes, easy, but nothing special, despite my using beer instead of water and tomato sauce as one reviewer recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was a great dish. The only thing I changed was adding an extra can of tomatoes. I think you could easily eliminate the ground beef and go with all sausage if you like. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This makes ALOT! The 2 times I have made it, I only had smoked sausage and that was plenty. Not sure if would do hamburger and sausage, we like it with just sausage. A nice hearty, filling meal with hot breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe was very simple. I didn't use the garlic salt called for in the recipe, but next time I think I will. I think it would have given it more flavor. My husband loved it the way it was. My 9 year old didn't like it, but I don't know that many kids who like cooked cabbage anyway. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMSASSYGIRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lowell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I have made hundreds of recipes from this site. I'm reviewing this one first because it's my favorite. I make it just as it is and it's great or I recently started added a big bag of coleslaw instead of the head of cabbage when I'm pressed for time. I've also used two cans of tomato soup to make it taste more like cabbage rolls and that's great as well. Thanks for putting it on Susan, it's my Grandson's favorite food (he's fifteen months old)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Excellent soup! I left out the rice only because I prefer it that way and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I recommend you exchange a bottle of beer for the water. Also, drop the stewed tomatoes and substitute two 8 oz cans of tomato sauce. This is a fantastic recipe. It gets better the second day..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States