Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I thought it sounded good but when it came to eat it the dish was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
My family loves this. It has become a once a week meal for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Westlake, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
The steps in the recipe need to be more user friendly for amatuers. I.e. use oil, 2 tblspn to brown the veggies. How about how to add the spices, crushed or as is. Overall I give this recipe a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarence "CJ" Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This recipe is delicious. Based on other reviews, I used beef stock (approx 4 cups) instead of water. I used 2 cans of seasoned diced tomatoes. I added Old Bay and cajun seasoning to spice it up. I also added a small can of diced chili peppers as well as a half pkg of dried onion soup mix. Since others said the rice may get mushy, I cooked my brown rice separately. I used 1 cup of rice to 1 1/2 cup of water (instead of the usual 2 c water to 1 c rice) so that the rice would cook completely once added in the end. Delicious!! Update - I had not made this since I reviewed it in Oct 2006, but I made it again using Andouille sausage instead of smoked sausage. Gave it lots of flavor and was truly delicious! Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
My whole pot of jambalaya turned to mush in the time it took for the rice to cook! What a disappointment. I would recommend cooking the rice seperate, and then adding to the remaining ingredients. The flavor was wonderful, so I will try again with less cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I feel like I'm being generous giving this recipe three stars. I would not recommend this recipe to others. While it didn't taste _bad_, there was nothing appealing about this dish. In the time it took the rice to cook, the cabbage got way overcooked. It was bland -- a real disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Great cold weather meal. I add a little more garlic, 29 oz of stewed tomatoes and 1 chopped fresh jalepenos for bite. I also subsitute broth for water. Thank you Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This recipe reminded me of my mothers stuffed cabbage. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Thought this was great with a few modifications. I had the ground beef frozen so I had to add almost 2 lbs rather than what the recipe called for. Also added a couple of extra stalks of celery. Additionally I substituted 2 approx 15 oz cans of chicken broth and 1 can full of water. Also, I added about 6 cloves of garlic minced, red ground pepper, black coarsely ground pepper, garlic salt, and 3 bay leaves which I removed prior to serving. I substituted 1 can of Rotel and 1 can of diced stewed tomatoes (seasoned with basil, oregano and garlic). While it may seem overly modified I found it delicious and flavorful as did my DH and picky kiddos. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Yes, easy, but nothing special, despite my using beer instead of water and tomato sauce as one reviewer recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States