Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
YUM! I love recipes like this that give you a jumping off point to be creative with. I took a lot of advice from previous reviews to make this my own. I treated it like a gumbo and added everything but the kitchen sink, (potatoes, carrots, a can of corn, a can of diced tomatoes in addition to the stewed, a can of black beans), and kicked it up a bit with some cayenne pepper and crushed red pepper flakes. I used chicken broth instead of water, no celery, (my family just doesn't care for it), turkey burger instead of hamburger, and beef kielbasa. I served it topped with a dollop of sour cream, some shredded cheddar cheese, and drizzled in Frank's Red Hot sauce. Very filling, spicy, and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYTHMANIAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Delicious. My boyfriend didn't think he would like it when I told him I was making it but once he tasted it, he couldn't get enough (neither could I). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
good base for tweaking. i needed more liquid for the rice to cook, so added 2 cans v-8. also added more garlic (i used roasted). i also thought this needed more seasoning, so will play with that some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Thanks to you reviewers for your wonderful ideas! We all love this dish. I'm sort of a crockpot freak, so I just throw everything all together (after I've browned and drained the meat). I use skinny Italian sausage, sliced, and regular ground beef. I get the coleslaw package and add it along with the tomatoes, some beef broth, and a can of tomato soup. I use the rest of the ingredients as written. I also think that many cooks use seasonings that are "tried & true" for them, and hate to see a recipe get bad reviews because they are too bland. Season it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Pretty good but this made WAAAAYYYY too much for one person and more than half of it went bad in my fridge. I used red cabbage and would probably use green or white next time as the purple color was a bit off-putting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! For the most part I follow the recipe but instead of hot sauce I add crushed red pepper flakes. It has turned out perfect both times. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Absolutely fabulous!!! I took the advice of adding cajun seasoning and a can of diced tomatoes with green chilis. We joked about licking our plates. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erica Ribeiro Sampaio
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Like others have said, this is a great basic recipe. When I made it for my daughter and the dayhome children, I stuck to the way it is because it's nice and simple for them. I also let them add some sour cream if they seemed a little iffy to try it. When I make it for a potluck or more "grown-up" tastes, I will take some of the suggestions and alter the type of sausage/spices etc. Still, since I am really cooking for a lot of children most of the time, this is a wonderful recipe and I'm glad I found it. Fills the little ones up nicely after a day of tobogganing and they don't even know they are eating EWWWW CABBAGE lol! And for that alone I will give it 5 stars. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Ribeiro Sampaio

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I'll give it five stars, but I changed almost everything after reading the reviews of others. I substituted knockwurst for smoked sausage. I added 4 cloves of garlic instead of 1. I used a 28 oz. can of whole tomatoes, chopped in their juice. I omitted garlic salt and instead used 1 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, 1 jalapeno pepper (finely minced), 1 tsp oregano, and 1/2 tsp thyme. I browned the onions, garlic and celery in some oil before adding the meat. I browned the ground beef and knockwurst before adding the rest of the ingredients. I brought the mixture to a boil, lowered the flame, and simmered the mixture covered for 25 minutes. When I was done, my daughter and husband gave this dish high praise by eating their entire portions. My daughter is a picky eater who at first tried to pull out pieces of the cabbage. When I next look up, her plate was empty! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Excellent!! Used New Orleans sausage and rotel tomatoes, also added a little more broth. All 5 kids loved it! Thanx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States