Cabbage Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I used ground turkey and a brown rice medley mix and it turned out great! So easy to make too which is always a plus in my kitchen. -G
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Loved this. Made with extra can of beef broth and extra can of stewed tomatoes. Does make a huge batch but at least I know we have something good to eat for the next couple of nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Was looking for something to cook ahead that was hearty but veggie loaded. I added extra cabbage and some shredded celeraic. My whole family (including 2 children, aged 2 and 6) loved this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I thought it was okay. My husband enjoyed it. My daughter ate the cabbage. I wish I would have added extra water as suggested by other users. I had to drain it to serve it. It was nice change in a dinner menu but I won't be making it again. It makes a lot! This dish is just too much for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was a hit with the whole family. Like others suggested I used broth instead of water and also used an 8oz of preshredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe because I had a head of cabbage I needed to use before it turned & I'm glad I did. This is pretty darn good! I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This was an unexpected success! Even my cabbage haters loved it and asked if they could have it again the next day, and my crew isn't keen on leftovers. I made 2 changes. 1. sauteed the cabbage in a T of bacon drippings. Added the crumbled bacon (5 strips) to the jambalaya. 2) I chopped carrots and added those, because I didn't have celery. Otherwise I followed the recipe. It was fantastic and inexpensive. A new family favorite. Very satisfying on a rainy fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
We loved this easy recipe, although we did change the ingredients to suit what we had on hand. All of the basics were the same, but instead of ground beef, we had chicken-apple sausage and some steamed shrimp that were seasoned with Old Bay Seasoning. The Old Bay was a nice touch! We will definitely enjoy the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I thought this was very tasty, however, I had to make some adjustments and it was mushy by the time it had finished cooking(I'll cook rice separate and then add at end next time). The adjs. I made were: put 2 cans of tomatoes in, left out the ground beef,only used the sausage, doubled the liquid due to rice needing it(I used broth) and lastly I added a couple of tsp. of cajun seasoning(to put some heat in). Even though I gave it a 3(had to because of all the changes) my daughter(22) said it was a 4 (she didn't see all the adj. but loved it). It makes A LOT of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I really liked this recipe! I used ground turkey and turkey sausage to make it a bit lower calorie. And I used a second can of tomatoes as one just didn't seem like enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States