Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I would recommend NOT making alterations to this soup because the purpose of the set recipe is to lose weight. I did lose weight when I made this (it was for a vacation), and it tasted great!! I checked with a local hospital, and they said this recipe is used for overweight patients to get them to lose weight rapidly to prepare for surgery. I would recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1057 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I've been making this for my boyfriend for about three months now. The only thing I do different is to add ground turkey. He eats a light breakfast of whatever he wants, a light sandwich for lunch and the soup for dinner. He likes to add some heat in the form of Tabasco or different dried peppers as it heats on the stove EVERY NIGHT. He's lost over 50 pounds! I'm sick of making it, but if it's working and he's enjoying it, I'll keep a pot of it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
773 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
First of all, a minor caveat-- I've never had to diet, since I have a pretty fast metabolism, so I can't really compare this to other diets. BUT... Several years ago, I started a new job and found myself sending out for fast food for lunch every day, eating it at my desk. All of a sudden, my clothes started to... *shrink*. I stepped on the scxale and saw that I'd gained 15 pounds!!! I panicked! Found this "diet" and decided to try it. The weight just went away! It does get a little boring... But it's tasty and painless; think about adding different spices and/or herbs to the soup to vary it... chili powder, curry, etc. Now, I *did* have to change the way I had lunch once I lost the weight... No more fast food breakfasts and lunches (except for the occasional emergency...), trying to get out and walk a bit a few times a week at lunch... But it did get the weight off and-- with my revamped lunch hour-- kept it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
580 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I ate this soup for months when the recipe came out years ago. You have to eat nothing else to lose weight....and I did, about 30 lbs.!! I gave the recipe to everyone at work and they all lost weight too. Besides which, it is an excellent soup (not so much for breakfast as we did back then!) but I still like it. I have added chick peas to the recipe for some protein. Also some lean hamburger goes well. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This is a very good for you and tasty soup, however, when I used to make this some time ago, I also thought that it lacked something or needed a little more flavor. To give it the flavor it needs, I decided an old trick my grandmother use to use in her vegetable soup.....add a jar or can of sauerkraut in place of some of the cabbage and it gives it just the zing it needs. Other than that, I left the recipe pretty much as is, I just didn't do a whole lot of measuring, just threw it all together and let it cook. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
The amount of cabbage in this recipe is overpowering. I like cabbage, but this is too much! If I make this again I will likely only use 1/4 the amount of cabbage and add other healthy veggies like squash and zucchini to make up for it. I will also cut the recipe in half as it does cook entirely too much... The thing that makes this soup a "fat burner" is you can eat ten bowls in one day and still be below 1000 calories. The carbs are low and there is no fat. If you make variations that don't include fat, carbs, and calories than you should still have the "fat burning" effect of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Very good. I used my food processor for most of the chopping, adjusted the seasonings to my personal taste, and simmered for a couple of hours. I froze individual servings and have been bringing it to work for lunch. It's very filling. The only thing I would/will do differently next time is transfer some of the soup to a blender and process until smooth, then add back into the soup for a creamier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kilijen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
LOVE IT!! ADDED FEW SHAKES OF TEXAS PETE HOT SAUCE AND WORCESTERSHIRE AND LEMON-PEPPER SEASONING. FOR A BURST OF FLAVOR & STILL HEALTHY ADD 1/2LB OF FROZEN,PLAIN (NOT BREADED)OKRA. ALSO, I DIDN'T COOK THE SOUP TOO LONG...THE VEGGIES WERE STILL AL DENTE AND SLIGHTLY CRUNCHY...SO DELICIOUS. NO TROUBLE GETTING YOU DAILY QUOTA OF VEGGIES WITH THIS RECIPE...I COULD EAT IT ALMOST EVERY DAY. OH, DON'T CUT YOUR ONIONS & CARROTS TOO SMALL CAUSE CHUNKIER IS BETTER IN THIS ONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I didn't use a large head of cabbage, and it takes much longer than 45 minutes for the veggies to simmer and get tender, but, the longer the simmer time, the nicer the flavors blend together. This freezes so well. My husband is a diabetic so I froze a whole bunch of single servings so when he wants a healthy pick me up, he just has to nuke it. Pssssttt...this makes a LOT of soup!!! Use a big stock pot for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I add a little red pepper or jalapeno to spice it up and sub the vitamin enhanced V-8 juice for tomato. A good carb to add is garbanzo beans. It adds an good texture to the soup without adding too much starch. I use this soup to get in my "5 a day"' and have a small bowl as a morning or afternoon snack if I have really bad munchies, or as an appetizer to diminish my appetite before going out to eat. (we have a lot of dinner parties in my office!) It does make a lot but freeze it individual tupperwares bowls and take a bowl along to microwave at work! Also, spice at will. It won't add any calories. I like to add a little garlic to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States