Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Like others, I made some alterations. I intend on eating mainly soups (at least 2 meals a day) as I want to lose 20 pounds. I added browned diced chicken breasts (2), 1 can of kidney beans, and my own homemade beef stock instead of processed. These add protein and help your blood sugar levels stay more consistent. The addition of Worcestershire sauce adds a depth of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I have made this soup before as a tasty, light summer dinner. Infact, have been making it off and on for the past 15 years! Yesterday, I made it and for the first time, I am following the 7 Day Cardiac Diet that goes along with it. It is still as tasty as I remembered. To those using it for a diet, it specifically mentions in the diet literature that it is not meant to be eaten alone for long periods of time, you will suffer malnutrition. If you follow the diet to a T and don't cheat, you will lose 10-17 lbs. per week and never be hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stressedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
wow! me & my husband love this! just made it. yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This soup turned out very good. I used spicy v-8 instead of tomato juice. I was a little disappointed because I was in the mood for cabbage soup and in my opinion this is more of a tomato vegtable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
yes I made this Recipe Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Giving 4 stars since I did have to add some seasoning. Instead of adding Tabasco or something like that after the fact; I added crushed red pepper, red cayenne pepper, and some garlic powder. Made it a spicy delicious soup! Very filling and you can certainly cut this in half and still have it for dinner every night for a week. I thought it would be too much cabbage and onion, but turned out perfectly. Simmered for about 40 minutes and the vegetables were nice and tender but not mushy. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coopsti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
TASTY! I added an 8 oz jar of rich salsa and cilantro. It came out with too much tomato flavor where you couldn't taste the other veggies I added (snap peas w/ pods, broccoli, cauliflower, bell pepper and at the last second - per bowl: baby spinach). Heeding another reviewer's suggestion, I added a can of sauerkraut, too. So I could use this too-tomato-ey concoction, I drained off much of the tomato broth and added chicken broth. THAT turned out very good. Also, take a look at the "Ginger Beef" recipe (Allrecipes). The flavors in the two recipes are quite similar, so you might explore using this soup as base, and adding the Ginger Beef portion as a variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I'm not a huge fan of the normal cabbage taste, so I used Napa cabbage (which has a mild, almost peppery flavor) for this recipe. I followed everything else to the letter, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I think I can eat this everyday for lunch! I put a couple shakes of curry powder! Wow, its really good.... I hope it burns the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
What caught my eye was the weight loss angle (just those few pds left over from holidays) but this soup actually tastes very good! Surprising good and I am not a cabbage or,tomato juice fan. I half recipe and froze a few bags. What was really incredible is how filling the soup is. I had a small sample bowl to check salt/spice level and I was barely ready to eat dinner a few hours later. Tis would be great on a short weight loss effort...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States