Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Used V8 Hot and Spicy for the juice so I omitted the onion soup mix because of the extra sodium. Added a little extra heat with 1tsp cayenne pepper. Also, since this was not primarily for a diet plan, I added 1lb brat links (sliced to 1/2 inch thickness) and 1lb ground turkey. Makes a lot of very tasty soup! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I have cooked this before on weight watches. Very good .I also add zucchini and yellow squash It is 0 points so I can eat it alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I REALLY like this soup. It's tasty and satisfying. However, I had to make some changes due to not having all ingredients on hand. Instead of a can of beef broth, I boiled beef marrow bones and browned lean stew meat. I only had one quart of tomato juice so I used low sodium V8 in place of the second quart and the water the recipe called for. I also added cracked pepper and a few splashed of hot sauce. Not sure how all this effects the calorie count but it can't be too bad. I hope I'll lose some weight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I made this soup many years ago and I was so thrilled to find the recipe again here on allrecipes.com (of course!). Before I share this tip, I must say that although I read many of the reviews, I did not read all 508 of them, so this may have already been shared. I was at a loss for 2 qts of tomato juice! As I was scouring my pantries for the juice or V8, I found my (very fav!!) Mr & Mrs T Bloody Mary Mix. Knowing it would be all kinds of wrong, I decided to compare the Nutrition Facts to my small amount of Campbell's tomato juice anyway. Well!!! Kudos to Mr & Mrs T !!!! The Nutrition Facts are EXACTLY the same except for a couple of (minor) things. The tomato juice has 5 grams of sugars and the Mr & Mrs T only has 4 grams of sugars!! Yes, I also know that Mr & Mrs T list high fructose corn sugar as an ingredient that the tomato juice does not have, but obviously it does not affect the Carbs or Sugars! Ok, there is a tradeoff (of course..lol!) the Mr & Mrs T mix has 650 mg of Sodium, compared to Campbell's Tomato Juice from Concentrate's 470 mgs. But you know the old trick - peel & quarter a couple of potatoes, throw them in to absorb the sodium and then toss them when your soup is done! So – For all of my fellow Bloody Mary lovers out there, all we need to keep in our pantries is Mr & Mrs T for our cocktails AND any of our recipes calling for tomato juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This soup is really good and very forgiving. I don't think I have ever had all the ingredients, but it always comes out great. I like a few changes. I use fresh green beans and substitute the dry onion soup mix with parsley, bouillon, peppers and paprika. I also add some beans, whatever type I have around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I can see why its a weight loss recipe. It tastes very similar to eating salsa but with cabbage. I like cabbage but I did not like this soup. I'd rather make my own salsa and eat it everyday out of the jar as well as steam cabbage or eat it raw everyday, than to waste my time making this soup ever again! But I can see its advantage of eating it if you can stand the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very tasty, a nice surprise great job :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPONGEROB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I've made cabbage soup before but it never tasted this good! I will be making it like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I do not like cabbage but hubby LOVES it. I have made cabbage rolls but found them to be time consuming to make and wanted an easy way to fix the cabbage that would make hubby happy and me happy as well. This soup was PERFECT!! Hubby raved about it and it made a huge amount making it both inexpensive and a staple for his lunches all week. I can't attest to the weight loss since that was an irrelevant factor in making it but did add jalepenos to give it a bit of kick to the tastebuds. VERY easy and, according to hubby, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
We did not like this soup. I have made it twice and even my husband whom loves cabbage soups hated it too bland, not enough veggies, and not much nutritinal value except the tomatoes especially if you use canned veggies. We are a family of soup lovers but overall this was just not one of our things and noone lost any weight after being forced to eat it for several days disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States