Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This soup was amazing! I only made half because the whole thing would be way too much. I added corn, chili powder, and some shell shaped pasta. It had too much cabbage for my taste so I only did half of what the recipe called for. My changes made it not as healthy but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Sooo good...even better on day two! I, like most, added some extras; sliced mushrooms, a few dashes of worcestershire, dried herbs. I didn't add the water, just the beef stock and no green beans (not a fan). Huge pot of soup, but everyone loves it, it's going to go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttsmom9103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Shockingly delicious. I reduced the serving size to 10 servings and followed the recipe with the addition of ground turkey. Will make more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is a great, easy, and very satisfying soup. I made a half batch and it is still a ton of food. To save on a bit of the chopping, I used a bag of pre-cut cole slaw instead of the head of cabbage. I also substituted a can of black beans (for protein) for the green beans (ick), and added some garlic, thyme, and basil. Planning on using it for lunches and for my late night snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Ignore the warnings of not changing the ingredients, go ahead! Canned tomato juice is high in sodium so I increase the low sodium beef broth. Often I include fresh or frozen veggies that's on sale at the market. I like to always include zucchini and yellow squash. I amp up the carrots & use a whole bunch of celery. I add veggies to the pot at different intervals because I like 'em on the crunchy side. I often change the seasoning packets to chile , taco or whatever suits my fancy. Stick with this without CHEATING and you'll loose weight. There is a calender of what to eat on certain days that goes with this diet. You can get unhealthy if just eating this and this alone. You're allowed meats & bananas, for example but on specific days. Google "cabbage soup diet schedule" and follow the plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kootsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I make something close to this. I would omit the onion soup due to the salt. You REALLY don't need it because you get enough from the tomato juice and beef broth. I also don't use carrots and green beans, instead I add chopped peppers and celery. Trust me, you will lose weight, I have been making this the early 80's. I make it every winter and eat it for lunch every day! It is a very hearty soup. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JSIMON0
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My husband loved it! He ate it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Its awesome!! Much better than we thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camden Craftwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made this to start my new year off with a few less pounds!! Hope this works!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Yum! Had to use up some veggies in the fridge, so opted to make this soup. Followed directions, except used Dry Beefy Onion soup mix (all I had), used more beef broth in lieu of water, and used Spicy V-8 tomato juice, as we like a lot of spice. This soup is great! Bonus that it is healthy, too! Thanks, Nell! I'll be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States