Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This soup turned out very good. I used spicy v-8 instead of tomato juice. I was a little disappointed because I was in the mood for cabbage soup and in my opinion this is more of a tomato vegtable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
yes I made this Recipe Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Giving 4 stars since I did have to add some seasoning. Instead of adding Tabasco or something like that after the fact; I added crushed red pepper, red cayenne pepper, and some garlic powder. Made it a spicy delicious soup! Very filling and you can certainly cut this in half and still have it for dinner every night for a week. I thought it would be too much cabbage and onion, but turned out perfectly. Simmered for about 40 minutes and the vegetables were nice and tender but not mushy. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coopsti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
TASTY! I added an 8 oz jar of rich salsa and cilantro. It came out with too much tomato flavor where you couldn't taste the other veggies I added (snap peas w/ pods, broccoli, cauliflower, bell pepper and at the last second - per bowl: baby spinach). Heeding another reviewer's suggestion, I added a can of sauerkraut, too. So I could use this too-tomato-ey concoction, I drained off much of the tomato broth and added chicken broth. THAT turned out very good. Also, take a look at the "Ginger Beef" recipe (Allrecipes). The flavors in the two recipes are quite similar, so you might explore using this soup as base, and adding the Ginger Beef portion as a variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I'm not a huge fan of the normal cabbage taste, so I used Napa cabbage (which has a mild, almost peppery flavor) for this recipe. I followed everything else to the letter, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I think I can eat this everyday for lunch! I put a couple shakes of curry powder! Wow, its really good.... I hope it burns the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
What caught my eye was the weight loss angle (just those few pds left over from holidays) but this soup actually tastes very good! Surprising good and I am not a cabbage or,tomato juice fan. I half recipe and froze a few bags. What was really incredible is how filling the soup is. I had a small sample bowl to check salt/spice level and I was barely ready to eat dinner a few hours later. Tis would be great on a short weight loss effort...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This was fantastic! I made just a couple of small alterations: don't care for tomatoes or celery, so I substituted some mushrooms - which were GREAT - and added some of my own spices for some flavor. I also used a little bit of the V-8 hot&spicy vegetable juice, which added a nice "kick". This soup worked great to drop some lbs fast! I ate it almost every day for lunch, along with a slice of margarine bread, for the 2 weeks leading up to a wedding that I was in. And the lbs STAYED off! It's the most effective diet I've ever tried. Also, it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I spray my frying pan with cooking spray and saute my celery, onion and cabbage (sometimes the carrots too) first, to get that roasted flavor a bit first. I suppose you could also roast them in the oven on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray too. It just adds a bit different flavor to the soup. I also use V8 instead of tomato juice, and I omit the tomatoes because I do not care for them. I also don't use the packet of onion soup mix, because there is already sodium in the V8 and the beef broth. Using low sodium products would be much better, however the soup isn't as tasty without all the sodium so you do need to try and spice it up some with extra herbs. But all in all, a great soup base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I have been eating this soup for lunch and dinner about a week and have lost three pounds already! I only need to lose 20 pounds. so this is a great start! I had tried a similar soup back in the 80's, but this one actually tastes much better! If you are the only one eating this, I would recommend halving the ingredients because it makes a HUGE pot otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States