Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by JSIMON0
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My husband loved it! He ate it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Its awesome!! Much better than we thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camden Craftwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made this to start my new year off with a few less pounds!! Hope this works!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Yum! Had to use up some veggies in the fridge, so opted to make this soup. Followed directions, except used Dry Beefy Onion soup mix (all I had), used more beef broth in lieu of water, and used Spicy V-8 tomato juice, as we like a lot of spice. This soup is great! Bonus that it is healthy, too! Thanks, Nell! I'll be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This has always been a good soup and very good for you. I found this over 20 years ago when it was a craze to lose weight with. It should be made exactly like the recipe. One reviewer added 2 packages of the soup mix. That is way too much sodium and reduces the effect of the soup. Chili flakes and hot peppers or other spices can be added, but I would not recommend adding them to the full pot of soup. Add them to individual servings, that way everyone eating some can make their own spin on it. It is the new year and once all this crazy food is gone, I will make it again. Who couldn't stand to lose a few pounds, other than my grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I remember this soup from the 80's and recently gave it another try. I made a few changes based on comments here. I used canned crushed tomatos, added two chopped up poblano peppers, two chopped jalapenos, used frozen french cut green beans instead of canned, added about 1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms for that meat mouth feel and I eliminated the dry onion soup mix. I cheated and sauteed 1 bunch green onion, tops and all, with 4 cloves garlic in 1T olive oil. I added 1T chili powder and 2t cumin. The soup turned out great, very filling but you get hungry again soon. The whole magic fat burning cabbage soup diet can be found at www.cabbage-soup-diet.com. It is really a behaviour modification plan disguised as a recipe. But all the veggies make for healthy eating! Great soup, highly recommend, with some added spices, which do not add calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Love it. I used the food processor for the onions, celery and cabbage for a nice texture balance to everything. With the amount of canned stuff, I made sure everything I bought was low sodium or salt free. I added a bit of cayenne and garlic after it finished cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsfan101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I never thought making vegetable soup (which is what this basically is) would be so easy! I halved the recipe, and it still made a FULL stockpot! I used the vegetables listed, and added a can of red kidney beans to add some protein. I love how low fat this is, which leaves room to add things like chicken or beans or whatever to make it a full meal. Not sure yet about the fat-burning properties, but that's just an added bonus to something so tasty! I froze the soup in single serve containers for some quick lunches/dinners for the week. I'm sure I'll be making this soup again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Not that this needs another review (= It got cold and rainy and I was craving soup - and this happened across my screen (= Sounded good, and healthy, so . . . (= I sorta halved it . . . I used a nearly 2 quart V8 for the tomato juice. I stirred in the packet of onion soup mix - but left out the beef broth - and a tablespoon of dehydrated garlic. I used 1 can of diced tomato [personal preference], about 2 c carrots, 1 large maui onion, all the celery, a small head of cabbage, the entire can of green beans, and 2 cans of garbanzos [I love them, and one didn't look like much in the pot with the rest of the veggies!] - I also added quite a few baby bellas that I needed to use up. I threw everything in my crockpot, set to high for 2 hours, then turned to low for about 7 more. I love being able to cook while I sleep ;) The pot was overflowing with veggies [see my first picture (=] - which I thought would cook down, so I decided to wait to add water [plus I like my soups thick!] It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Way too much salt with the onion soup mix. Better to use real onions and garlic as flavor enhancers. and use salt sub instead of salt if you have salt intolerance (swelling ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States