Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Delicious! Even the Meat and Potatoes Man-of-the-house went back for seconds! I didn't change a thing. I did however use TWO soup pots and split the ingredients between the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelie Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Love it! Wasnt sure if my household would too, but they did. I pit my own spin on it though to add protein. I substituted zucchini for the green peppers because im not a fan. I also used spicy tomato juice to add the hot I like. I browned a pound of ground turkey ( could have used a 1.5 lbs to make it more heart). I also added a can of chick peas. For the last zest I putvred pepper flakes. It sure did have a kick. Wojld like to add garlic next time, but im definitely happy with it. Would of been ok as is, but wanted to make it my own and heartier to avoid wanting to eat something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I thought it was blan. I will try it slightly different next time. But good for a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I really like - omit green beans use zucchini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Very easy to make. It makes a lot so I used a large stock pot, and had soup for lunch everyday during the week. Was enough for both my husband, and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Added hot serrano pepper instead of beans. And used low sodium for the liquids. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Very tasty soup and healthy too, sign me up. I didn't see it mentioned it the hundreds of reviews I read, but I used a 16 Quart pot and that was more than enough. I would imagine if you have anything between 12-16 Quart you should be able to fit all the ingredients and water just fine. I followed the recipe and used all of the ingredients to the exact amounts. I did substitute corn for the green beans, just a personal preference. Also added thyme, oregano, basil, herbs, and african spices...PERFECTION. Thanks for sharing such a hearty and healthy recipe for cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
First, it's worth pointing out as others have that this soup is "fat burning" not because of some magical ingredients that melt away the weight, but because it's so low calorie, that meals like this are basically calorie neutral. When it comes to food, everything can be evaluated in 3 categories. - Is it filling? - Does it taste good? - Is it low in calories? Foods that are a "yes" in the above 3 are rare. A bowl of raw vegetables is filling and low in calories, but would be a bit bland. A cheesecake is filling and tastes good, but is high in calories. This soup is the triple threat. Tastes great, very filling, and insanely low in calories. It's so low in calories it would almost be dangerous to only eat this everyday! Now on to the soup itself, a couple notes: Size: As others have mentioned the total made is enormous- I thought my large stock pot would be enough but had to split it into two. You need one of those huge pots, or two small ones. Customizing: I decided to make tweaks right off the bat. As written it's probably fine. That's the great thing about this soup- you can tweak it however you want. I added worcestershire, A1 sauce, and used diced tomatoes with green chiles. Spices included basil, salt, pepper, garlic and a few others. You can do whatever you want! And going on from there, don't be afraid to add even low calorie things. Some sliced turkey kielbasa would still have this be an absolutely insanely low calorie dish, but add to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MattM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dryburgh
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I make this exact recipe only I add lentils, sage and kale. I serve it with lemon wedges option for fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
The recipe has a good flavor, but the amount of onion and green pepper is too much. The next time I make the soup, I will cut both in half. I would likely also reduce the cabbage amount. It makes a LOT of soup, too. I'm wondering, for me, if it would be better to make a half recipe with one onion, one green pepper, and 1/2 head of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States