Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I know it's asked not to rate a recipe if you make changes but my only changes are that I add garlic (whole cloves) and allow the garlic and onion to simmer for about an hour because I like my onion and garlic mushy. I also use veg juice rather than tomato juice. I add the other vegs (but fresh green beans not canned) afterwards. This freezes well. I ate this for two weeks for lunch and if I felt super hungry after work at about 5 or 6. I ate regular dinner. I STILL started losing. Three people actually noticed the few pounds dropped after two weeks. I brown ground beef and boil potatoes on the side to add on a serving basis for my 19 year old son. This will be a staple in my fridge and freezer all winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STLINARES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Good, less spice next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
It is a great recipie but i ground tomato, 8 garlic cloves, 3 green chillies and cooked it on a pan without oil or butter. I added this to the veggie broth. Added soya sauce, tomato ketchup 3tsps while boiling it the vegs. I did not put any soup mix. Onions i sauted it without oil and added it in the last. Hope i lose weight if i have this for dinner.. fingers crossed.. love from india!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharvani s

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocks
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Exactly the type of cabbage soup recipe I was looking for. I love the tomato taste in this soup. It reminds me of my youth! I omitted the green peppers simply because I didn't have any. I didn't miss them. I am giving 4 stars only because I'm not crazy about the French onion soup mix. I did try it so that I could rate it as written. I would prefer to use some spices next time with less sodium. Overall deliciousness though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I made a full pot of this soup and all I can say is thank you for this recipe ! It is the best soup I have every tasted in my 55 yrs. My husband said that it was the best he ever tasted as well. The only thing I added was a dash of red crushed pepper,garlic and onion powder. Fantastic soup and I am not a vegetable lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
How I've tweeked it: instead of using plain tomato juice I use a spicy V-8 and whatever other FRESH vegetables I have. Also, the addition of barley and ground beef. If you use the recipe as written hunger is likely to strike, thus eating more soup! Simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
A tiny bit bland, spice to your taste but great recipe just needs a little pinch of spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
It was bland and the veggies all mushed together into one boring color. I added some zucchinis and left out the celery as I don't like it. Made a ton, I filled my crockpot and a stockpot all the way full. Froze a bunch of it and have the whole crockpot left to eat. Utilize all the spices you can, as it is very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This make a HUGE pot of soup! It is delicious and I wish mine had more cabbage in it - the biggest head I could find was still on the small side. I used fresh green beans and doubled the beef broth, added Worcestershire sauce, black pepper, hot sauce and pepper flakes - I like flavor. I made another pot and changed the veggies slightly to include cauliflower which I had on hand and saved a copy on here. I add turkey meatballs for meal replacements. This will be my new winter work lunch, it will allow me to save money and lose weight, win-win! If you decide to change the vegetables around and want to preserve the weight loss property, be very aware to avoid any starchy vegetables and limit vegetables that are high in sugar. I cooked mine about an hour, anymore than that and veggies will be too soft as they keep cooking until they cool and may cook a bit again when you warm up the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuebecGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
To start off, there is nothing magical about this soup that makes you lose weight. It's tasty and full of fantastic vegetables that fill you up with very few calories. That's it. Lets face it though, many of us don't eat enough veggies. I love this recipe, and often add yellow squash and zucchini to liven it up. It's a great way to supplement your diet and get you to your weight loss goals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States