Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is a very tasty soup. I knew from reading the recipe that i'd find it a little bland so I added 4 cloves of garlic, crushed, about a teaspoon of coriander powder, celery salt and basil as well as 6 small chillies chopped with the the seeds. It's turned out delicious! I'm a vegetarian so I also substituted the beef broth for vegetable stock (from bullion). Be warned - if you are going to use the stated proportions, you will need a very large pot to get all the ingredients in - it ended up being a lot more than I thought it would be, with the soup coming to the top of my foot and a bit tall stock pot! The great thing about this recipe is that the soup is versatile, you can add different spices and sauces to it and use different stocks and vegetable juice bases to change the flavor (next time I'm thinking of trying a more curried flavor) and you can either roughly chop the veggies if you want it chunky, finely chop them for some bite or puree it if you prefer a thick liquid soup. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Moffat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Holy smokes this makes a MASSIVE batch of soup, I only made half the recipe and my pot was full to the brim! I've made this a bunch of times, never the same twice. I don't eat meat, so I use vegetable broth and add in vegetarian sausage for a little protein. I also swap out veggies for other veggies, I have a pot cooking away on the stove right now with double carrots and celery, 2 small zucchini, no green beans or bell pepper. I also added in garlic! Even though I made a half batch I add in the whole packet of onion soup mix. I will take longer than 45 minutes start to finish, maybe an hour and a halfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I had to cook it about 30 minutes longer than specified. It made a LOT for one person over a several day period. I did add some red pepper flakes to it for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Took time to prep veggies, but it was so good. I made 1/3 the recipe and still went w whole packet of Lipton onion soup. Omitted green beans. Other than that, followed recipe and am highly impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Do not judge a book by its cover....this is an 'Amazing' recipe coming from someone who does NOT like veggies at all. I added lots of chili peppers though (need heat in all of my foods). Tastes alot better the next day. It helps to know 1 cup is only 90 cal. I love that it's high in fiber as well - about 5g per cup. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca from LA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I absolutely love this soup! I have it every day with my lunch. I also have it as a snack if I want something low calorie and filling. I made the recipe as written with only one change - I used fresh green beans instead of canned. The recipe made enough for me to distribute between 16 (16 ounce) Ziploc containers that I filled about 3/4 way. Put them all in my freezer ... Awesome soup to have on hand! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca from LA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
A nice change to this recipe that makes it a little middle eastern: add 1 cup golden raisins a can garbanzo beans and one or two squares of golden curry paste. it doesn't make it hot just warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Tastes pretty healthy.... But it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura (Laurie) Chapman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This soup was delicious! I used chicken stock instead of beef broth and added more chicken stock. I also added a bunch of spices based on the comments (I tsp each of oregano, parsley, Italian seasoning, onion power, garlic powder... and I added a dash of hot sauce... plus salt and pepper to taste)... I also added two tablespoons of olive oil and chicken sausage which made it heartier..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Definitely works as a quick diet plan! Nuff said....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States