Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This recipe works best if the "packaged onion soup mix" is omitted. I used fresh tomatoes (with skins removed) and fresh green beans. The difference in taste using fresh ingredients is worth the expense. And if you grow your own tomatoes and green beans, there's no extra expense. It's OK to not put in two quarts of commercial tomato juice that is loaded with salt. Just salt to taste, not according to what's in packaged soups and juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Good basic recipe. I agree with one reviewer that said it had too much cabbage (and I had a very large head), so it was cut to a half head. It needed a little flavor enhancing so I added: 1-1/2 tsp oregano, 1 tsp basil, 2 tsp granulated garlic (try 1 tsp first just in case you like to limit garlic), 1 tsp black pepper. I also added 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper to give it a kick. One note: be prepared for the volume of flatulence that ensues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Wow! This is a great recipe!! I wasn't looking for the Cabbage soup diet, I have been looking for a cabbage soup recipe like the one my Grandma used to make and this was pretty darn close! I LOVE that it happens to be low in calories and makes a huge pot, just like Grandma's! I did add about 4 fresh garlic cloves(crushed), and some fresh ground pepper. (I love you Grandma, but yours was a little bland.) Oh, and like my Grandma, I added 4 red potato's cut in small pieces and let it simmer on the stove for about 4 hours. Everyone in the family LOVED it!!! No even knows it is supposed to be low-calorie. Yes, I know adding those 4 small red potato's alter's the magic of the soup! It is still good for you, and taste great!! My Grandma would have been proud of me for hand chopping all those veggies so nicely! I think she would have loved this soup too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Very good, but next time I will make a fourth of this! This made so much, until we got sick of it. But definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Holy Smokes! I generally am not one for soups but this one is a winner! It's satisfying, tasty, hearty and overall a great soup. My entire family loves it and there is NEVER EVER any waste or throwing away leftovesr cause IT'S GONE! Thanks for the recipe. The oool thing about this soup you can add skinless chicken breast, cook it longer (3hrs+)for a variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is so good! I threw in a can of Garbanzo beans, and some red pepper flakes. I love the extra spice. I bought a lb. of ground chicken to make tiny meatball's for it. Had a big bowl before I added them, and it's just as delicious without them. Almost forgot to mention that I added a small can of sauerkraut. This made it nice and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HM
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Yum...this is so delist the only thing I changed is adding garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by uscgchristina
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Went to a lot of saint Patricks day parades, had so much cabbage and came across this recipe. It came out great!!! Love the taste, I only added a pepper for some spice. Warning it does makes a lot but great for setting up lunch for the whole week. Thanks you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I halved this recipe but otherwise followed it exactly. As it became ready to eat I did feel it lacked a bit of flavor so I added 1/2 tsp of cayenne. It was excellent after that. Couldnt stop sneaking sips of the broth as it cooled. I should also add that the broth, tomato juice, and canned green beans were all low sodium or no salt added which may account for lack of flavor before the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
It was okay as written. The cabbage was way to overpowering! The broth was very acidic also. Next time I'll make some modifications, but it made over 8 quarts of soup so I'm gonna test out new modifications right from what I have. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States